A World of Difference

It’s truly amazing how one messy room can cast a shadow over an otherwise organized home. I’m also surprised at how one room seems to hold that power tighter than any other room. If my kitchen is messy, I simply  have a hard time functioning. If the counters are full of messy dishes, the work looks insurmountable. If the floor is sticky, each step is filled with irritation.

I try to keep my home (especially my kitchen!) clean and organized, but, once again, it’s surprising how things can seem to get dirty with hardly any effort. 🙂 Over the holidays I noticed that my stove had gotten remarkably dirty due to all of the holiday baking, cooking, and canning I had done. When I stopped to survey the scene this is what I saw…

I procrastinated for quite awhile. I had tried scrubbing the offending mess with a cloth to no avail. But there is just no joy in cooking on a dirty stove, so I decided that something must be done. Since I had had such success with cleaning my sink with baking soda I decided to try the technique out on my stove.

My cast of characters…a bowl of vinegar, a bowl of water, an old toothbrush, a damp cloth and baking soda. I started by sprinkling the baking soda on the stove, dipped the toothbrush in the vinegar and set to work scrubbing away. When my toothbrush got dirty I rinsed it off in the bowl of water. After awhile, my stove was filled with dirty baking soda and vinegar so I wiped it clean with the cloth. And then I repeated the whole procedure a second time. It was starting to look better!

Next I scrapped and scrubbed with baking soda and vinegar using my hands and scrubbrush. And finally my stove is looking pretty good. 🙂

A small job can make a world of difference.

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A World of Difference

  1. Tracey says:

    Wow – some basic supplies and lots of elbow grease cleaned it up nicely!! Great job!

Leave a comment