Baking Soda

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

 

I have have heard that baking soda is a great natural cleaner. I’ve read impressive lists of how baking soda can improve your life. I even bought a 12 pound bag of baking soda a long time ago. Truth be told…I haven’t been too impressed by the “powers” of baking soda and most of that 12 pound bag is still sitting in my cupboard! 🙂

So when I realized that my kitchen sink needed a good cleaning (and after procrastinating on that job for a few days), I did a search to find a good way to shine a sink. Of course there is the FlyLady way…but I didn’t have any bleach. I found this video demonstration…but there seemed to be a lot of steps involved and I have no idea what cream cleaner is! So then it hit me…why not try some baking soda? After all, with that big bag in my cupboard I wouldn’t miss what little I would use on this “experiment”. 🙂

My sink started out looking like this…and yes…it was difficult getting a good photo of the sink. 🙂

After sprinkling baking soda in the sink, adding a little water and scrubbing with my kitchen scrubbrush (and repeating a few times), my sink looked like this…

After scrubbing for just a few seconds, I was so excited to see the immediate results! I couldn’t believe the success I was having with baking soda! And, of course, one benefit to finding this easy and cheap way to clean sinks is that I’m a small step closer to completing #40 on the list. 🙂

Of course, now I feel like going through my house to find something else that’s dirty and try baking soda on it! 😉

For more Tackle It Tuesdays, visit 5 Minutes for Mom.

This entry was posted in Carrie's 101 List, Homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baking Soda

  1. amanda says:

    wow what a difference! might have to try this with my bathroom stink!

  2. Judy says:

    I use baking soda all the time! Try pouring a quarter cup in your drain and then start adding some white vinegar. See it bubbling up? It’s scouring your drain!! I do this once a month to all my drains and it keeps the plumber away. I use baking soda for so many things when it comes to cleaning.

Leave a Reply

