Daily Routine

Daily routines can be difficult to formulate, but they are so helpful in running a household. 🙂 It has taken me quite a while to figure out a good routine for us, but I’ve finally figured out what works best for me and the boys. I looked at so many lists on blogs to help me organize my days. And this is what works for us. 🙂

6:00 – 7:00 – Tim and I get up. I get his lunch together and, if breakfast needs to be baked, I mix it up and pop it in the oven. I do my morning devotions and check my email, Facebook, and some blogs. I spend 30-45 minutes working on surveys that help bring in a little bit of extra money.

7:30 – 9:00 We eat breakfast, clean up, do our morning routine and do some “school”.

Morning Routine
Bible time with the boys (I read to them during breakfast)
Clean up the kitchen (Drew puts the silverware away)
15-Minute Tidy
Spot clean the bathrooms
Help Drew make his bed
Fix my hair and put on some earrings
Thaw dinner

9:00 – 11:00 The boys have a nap/quiet time. I work on things that involve my computer or projects that require uninterrupted concentration. Lesson plans, paying bills, blogging, crocheting, quilting, Bradley work, etc.

11:00 – 12:30 Lunch and afternoon routine

Afternoon Routine
Clean kitchen
5 1-minute chores
Mission of the day
Home Sanctuary

12:30 – 2:00 Complete weekly routine (jobs that need to be done weekly), zone work (if you know about FlyLady, you’ll know what I’m talking about. :-)) and more school with the boys.

2:00 – 4:00 The boys second nap/quiet time. I again work on things that need to be done without interruptions.

4:00 – 5:00 Work on dinner and play with the boys.

5:00 – 6:00 Dinner and clean up.

After that, it’s just family time. Tim usually plays with the boys. I sometimes join in or finish up some work (like laundry! :-)) or work on a project. We have family Bible time around 7:30 and the boys go to bed at 8:00.

I also keep a daily to-do list and I complete these items/jobs as time allows throughout the day. To keep the list from getting burdensome I put a limit of 10 extra jobs per day. (Often these jobs are really quite small…like making a phone call or it could be something I need to remember to do during the boys’ nap times.)

I love the freedom that a working schedule gives me. I get things accomplished that need to be done AND I get to spend time having fun with Drew and Carter. 🙂

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment