Handprint Christmas Ornament

img_9253

This is what Drew and I made to give his grandmothers. I originally saw this idea on another blog and thought it would be fun to give it a try.

You need Crayola Model Magic. I bought mine online at Target I think it was. And I bought it with glitter already in it. (The post I found had you add glitter after making the handprint.) I rolled it out, pressed in Drew’s handprint (he really wanted to be able to play with it! ), made a hole in the top and tied a red ribbon through it. They turned out really nice, although Drew had fun digging his fingers into the one on the left.

img_9255

For more homemade gifts, check out Cupcake Kit, Snickerdoodles, and Simmer Pots.

This post is linked to Life as Mom , Creation Corner, One Fun Mom and Making Memories.

~ Carrie  ~

This entry was posted in Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Handprint Christmas Ornament

  1. Stephanie says:

    I love this! My preschoolers will be making these!!!

  2. Thanks for linking up. That would make a precious grandmother present.

  3. jes says:

    Those are soo cute! Love it!

  4. Dee says:

    When I was a daycare teacher in an infant room, we made similar gifts for all parents — we also took photos, cut them into circles and glued them on the flip side of the hand print. We used glitter glue around the edges to seal the picture and added the year.

    I love how you incorporated the glitter into the plain model magic to give it some holiday cheer. 😀

  5. Jennifer says:

    This might be a dumb question but do they get hardened from sitting out…so basically they dry out??? I have a 6 month old and would love to make this for the grandparents. Thnaks!!!!

  6. wholesomewomanhood says:

    They do harden as they dry, although they don’t get rock hard. 🙂 I believe I let mine dry for 24 hours…

  7. Courtney says:

    Hello, do you think these would work on an outdoor tree? as in are they water proof? and how much crayola model magic do you need to make one ornament? We would be making about 25 of them so I am just wondering how much of the model magic to order. Any suggestions you can give would be great! thanks!

  8. wholesomewomanhood says:

    I don’t know if it would work outside. When they dried, they were still squishy (as in you could make marks in them with your fingernails if you pushed too hard). (Perhaps you could try spraying them with a thin coat of clear spray paint to keep them safe outside??) I can’t remember the exact amount we used. The ornaments we made were rather thick…you could make them thinner. I think around 2-3 ounces should be enough for each ornament. Since you’re buying so much of it, I’d recommend checking Amazon. Model Magic can be rather expensive if you guy it in a store or through Crayola.

    I’d love to see pictures after you make your ornaments! 🙂

  9. Oooh, I love this idea too! Would you consider linking it up with the Advent linkup too!? I might be trying it!

  10. Pingback: Ula’s Favorites – Christmas Edition | Broccoli Addict

Leave a comment