Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

Last week Roma tomatoes were on sale and I had recently found a recipe for spaghetti sauce using fresh tomatoes. So I thought I’d experiment and try it out.

I was a little skeptical that there would be a fresh tomato spaghetti sauce that I would actually like. (Tomatoes aren’t particularly liked by anyone in this family. :-)) But I had to find a recipe that was good in order to complete #25 on my 101 list. So I put away my reservations and jumped right into this new experience. 🙂

I followed this recipe (minus the parsley). It started out very chunky and as it simmered it boiled down into a juicy delicious smelling, although still chunky, spaghetti sauce. Since my family also does not like chunky spaghetti sauce, I put it through the blender and then I was finally able to taste it.

Verdict: DELICIOUS!! YAY!

Now all I have to do is wait for tomatoes to go on a good sale, borrow my Mom’s pressure cooker, invite Melinda over and spend a day canning tomato sauce. 🙂

This post is linked to Try New Adventures Thursday.

This entry was posted in Carrie's 101 List. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

  1. joyceandnorm says:

    Stopping by from TNAT

    Love anything homemade! I’ve only made homemade spaghetti sauce once. I liked that the recipe you used didn’t have canned items. I have never seen a recipe for this sauce without canned tomatoes. I’ll have to save this one for when our garden starts up again with tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

