Created to be His Help Meet

I honestly didn’t expect much from Created to be His Help Meet by Debi Pearl. Whenever I’ve read parts of their magazine, I typically come away slightly irritated. The Pearls just seem to have a polarizing effect on people…either you love them or you don’t.

However, I didn’t want my opinion of this book to be based only on others’ opinions. I thought I would read it, struggle through it, and then move right along to another book. That didn’t happen. 🙂

(Before getting into this book, I would like to say this: I would not recommend this book to others. While it did benefit me and my marriage, Debi Pearl often uses strong emotionally charged [albeit biblical] language that, if you are having problems in your marriage, might prompt an emotional response that wouldn’t be beneficial.)

The Lord has been working in my heart in amazing ways over the past couple of months and this book is just one of the ways. I finished this book with an overwhelming sense of the awesome responsibility and influence (for good or bad) I have on my husband. Through reading this book, I came face to face with all of the little ways I can encourage or discourage Tim. Nagging or encouragement…little words spoken throughout the day that have the power to heal or hurt.

In the second half of the book, Debi Pearl goes through Titus 2:4-5 talking about each characteristic of a godly woman sharing practical ways to cultivate these godly traits.

I was challenged while reading this book. If you want to read this book, please first read my caution above. 🙂

This post is linked to Women Living Well and A Wise Woman Builds Her House.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Created to be His Help Meet

  1. Lana Dixon says:

    This is an area that the Lord has really been working on in my life lately. The more I desire good for my husband the happier and content I am on a daily basis. Isn’t God good? If I just abide in His desire for my life I am fulfilled and my husband is blessed.

  2. Sarah Beth says:

    I LOVED created to be His Helpmeet!!!! I know so many women that were changed and inspired from this book. I love debi’s bold passion to speak on TRUTH. So many ppl can be very wishy washy.. And books on marriage that are like that only help me to nag at my husband. Its refreshing to just hear the truth and be told by an older woman how a married woman is suppose to be. This made my marriage even more HEAVENLY!!!!!!! The pearls are often attacked, but just look at their children and their marriage.. the fruit of her work before we judge. The world needed this book!

  3. Lori says:

    This book changed my marriage! I have been using it for the past eight years to mentor women and it has changed many of their marriages for the good also. Sure, there are some things that we don’t agree with or the way she says it but it is a powerful book!

  4. Great review! I love and hate “Created to be His Helpmeet.” Like you said, she uses strong [Biblical] language. Reading her book feels like attending a spiritual “bootcamp.” My self often doesn’t like it. But as I read, I am also encouraged and inspired. What she says is true and despite the strong warnings, she upholds the gloriousness of a good marriage.

  5. sarah smith says:

    i also have a love hate relationship with this book. i love that as a Christian woman, i can connect her strong thoughts with the Bible, but hate that i feel i could never recomend it to a new, or wavering Christian woman, because the forcefullness could turn them further from the truth. i do find that re-reading her thoughts on what your life may be like without your husband, to be the biggest eye opener there is.

Leave a Reply

