Reflections

A birthday is a good time for reflections. A year has passed . . . and so much has happened in my life in the past year.

One year ago today, I spent my birthday with Tim and Carrie. It was one of the best birthdays of my life so far. I actually got to spend the day with my twin sister, and that doesn’t usually happen since she got married. Plus, Tim did his best to make it a very special day for both of us.

A year ago . . . I longed to be married. The desire of my heart was to love and be loved. I wanted to have a family. A year ago . . . that desire seemed so far away from being fulfilled. A year ago . . . I was discouraged.

Yet, one year later, I am happily married. In less than a year, I met a godly, sweet, romantic man. We got to know each other quickly, and a little over a month ago, we were married.

God is good.

Was it hard to wait for marriage? Yes . . . unbearably so, at times. Was it worth it? Yes.

This birthday is a time to pause for reflection . . . not so much on the changes in my life, but in the faithfulness of God. I see his fingerprints all over my life from the past year, and it is exciting to think about what the next year will hold.

This entry was posted in Godly Living. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections

  1. Rightthinker says:

    God is so good..yes, reflecting on a year gone by is extremely valuable. It always shows me just how blessed I am…AND, offers a 20/20 hindsight view of all the ways God had his hand in my life, and yet I couldn’t understand how at the very moment in time..I just had a choice to trust and obey, or try to “work” things out on my own..never good!

    Great post. Congratulations on your marriage, and God bless you.

Leave a Reply

