Trusting God Through a Miscarriage

When I read Trusting God by Jerry Bridges, I appreciated his wisdom and insight into some commonly asked questions, such as “Why do natural disasters occur?” and “Why do bad things happen to good people?”

As I read the book, it was all very theoretical for me.  Of course, God is in control. And of course, He has the best interests of His followers in mind. But I had never encountered a deep heartbreaking pain before. I had experienced false accusations, losing friendships, and not knowing what the future held. And while each of those experiences have shaped me and helped me grow into the woman I am today, I never deeply questioned God’s sovereignty.

Mid-September things changed. An event occurred that made me question God’s goodness. I had a miscarriage at 16 weeks. I lost a baby that I loved…I was eagerly anticipating the arrival of another precious gift from God. And in the course of 13 hours, my baby was gone. My heart was broken.

Now, two months later, can I tell you why God allowed this to happen? No. Am I still saddened when I remember that I have a child that I will never be able to hold in my arms? Yes.

But one thing I do know…God has used this situation to teach me to trust in Him and to help me learn to turn to Him even during physical and emotional pain. I’ve also learned to treasure each moment I have with my two precious boys, because life is short.

And now, a verse that I would read and recite without giving it too much thought, is a comfort and a constant reassurance that even in the heartache of losing a precious baby, God is in control.

I may not know why, but I do know that my miscarriage did not happen by chance.

When doubts begin to flood my mind and depression threatens to overwhelm me, I’m going to cling tightly to this verse.

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

(I was really blessed by this post, which I found one month to the day after our miscarriage.)

This post is linked to Growing Home and Encouraging One Another.

This entry was posted in God's Faithfulness, Miscarriage. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trusting God Through a Miscarriage

  1. Miranda says:

    I’m so sorry, Carrie. I’m heartbroken for you. I know that everything happens for a reason but there is still pain and you still experienced loss. {{{hugs}}}

  2. Oh, Carrie! I didn’t know. I’m so sorry! I can’t imagine how painful that must be! God has done some hard things in our life in the area of child-bearing as well. I have RH-isoimmunization, which I developed sometime in my pregnancy with Daniel, or after I had Ruthie. We don’t know what the future holds for us, but you are right–we can trust that His plan is best! Thank you for sharing about your journey of trusting the Lord through trials. My heart goes out to you and your family!

  3. Rightthinker says:

    I am so sad to hear of your loss. I truly know the heartbreak, and I very much am blessed to hear that you found some comfort in my post about it.

    God is good all the time, and I relate so closely to your words.

    God Bless you dear sister in Christ. God has plans for you, indeed.

  4. Dear Carrie,
    Oh, my heart breaks for you, dear one. I, too, can relate to the loss and pain, but I am blessed to see the strengthening you have been given! There is courage I see and, yes, later maybe even thankfulness that our Father in Heaven loved you so much to give you a perspective to help others in their time of grief! “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” 2 Cor. 1: 3-4

  5. Heather Anderson says:

    Blessings to you! I have felt the pain of miscarriage, and my heart goes out to you. This life is full of trials and those trials will hopefully teach us to lean on God even more. And yet, “joy comes with the morning.” May the Lord renew your joy, hope and peace.

  6. Jenny says:

    Dear Carrie,
    When we lost Daisy this past March, I could not smile for a while as my heart was in so much pain. I always know that God does not make mistake, it was just that in my flesh alone, I was weak. I cried everytime when I read of stories of mamas who lost their unborn child. Eventually, the Lord has given me new joy to go on and I remembered saying that single verse for a long time: The joy of the Lord is my strengh. So yes, your girl and mine have a same middle name and they are in heaven waiting for us. I can’t wait to get there and meet my girl one day.
    It was good seeing you today, Carrie. As a matter of fact, it is always a joy to see you and your sisters. You gals bless my heart.

Leave a Reply

