Lord, Help Me to Decrease

“He must increase, but I must decrease.” John 3:30

It was strange how God seemed to bring up the same lesson to me over the course of several weeks using different people. When three different people mentioned the same thing, it made me take notice. This was a lesson God wants me to learn.

It all started with Created To Be His Help Meet by Debi Pearl. I borrowed this book from my mom not expecting much. After all, the Pearls have a polarizing effect on people. (I also don’t agree with everything they say and do.) But I was constantly convicted and challenged as I read to serve my husband continually and self-sacrificially. (I was also convicted reading Jamie’s post. How many times have I missed making special memories with my husband simply because I didn’t want to join in one of his hobbies??)

Then Courtney posted this challenge. Every day I lit my candle and prayed that God would help me to decrease so that He could increase in my life.

Finally, the topic of selfless service of my family came up in our women’s Sunday Bible class. Our pastor’s wife said something that is sticking with me. I need to look past the person I am serving and taking care of to see Jesus Christ for when I serve my family I am really serving my Lord.

“And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.” Colossians 3:23-24

When I gave my life to Christ all of those years ago, I became a living sacrifice to God.

“I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.” Romans 12:1

So when I’m tired and I still have to prepare dinner, I will look past my feelings and see Christ.

When my boys are tired, sick or cranky, I will look past them, see Christ and lovingly take care of their needs.

When a friend or family member calls me needing encouragement and I am emotionally drained, I will look past them and see Christ and ask Him to show His love through me.

This seems like a tall order. Impossible to achieve. And so I am driven to my knees to seek diving help because…

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:

This entry was posted in Wholesome Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lord, Help Me to Decrease

  1. Great post! This goes along with a lot of what the Lord is teaching me and dealing with me about right now. Keep up the good work!

  2. Good evening, Carrie! I do love that Col. 3: 23-24 verse! It has helped me so much when I don’t feel I need to honor my husband; I will do it, though, for Christ! It helps me when I want to be lazy or to grumble. You are right! We must put down the flesh and decrease, so Christ can increase IN us!

Leave a Reply

