Books That Changed My Life

It’s difficult to pinpoint specific books that have changed my life. Generally, a particular book doesn’t change my life but rather the books I read have built on each other, gradually shifting the way I think about a subject.

With that said, however, there are a couple books that stand out in my memory.

  1. Word of Honor by Terri Blackstock – It has been years since I read this book, so I am not offering a recommendation of this book or the series it’s a  part of. Since I read this book, my reading tastes have changed some so I’m not sure I would enjoy this book as much now as I did then. With that said, however, this book completely revolutionized the way I understood a covenant. I had never given a great deal of thought about covenants. A covenant is central to the story in this novel. Whether or not I agree with how the characters acted with regard to the covenant, Terri Blackstock vividly illustrated how powerful a covenant is. Understanding the unbreakable nature of a covenant is helpful when thinking about the biblical covenants.
  2. The Path of Loneliness by Elisabeth Elliot – This book helped me realize that God does not bear the responsibility to make me or keep me happy in life. God has bigger purposes and plans. In fact, paths of loneliness in my life may actually be a part of what God wants to accomplish. This helped me look at difficult life circumstances and loneliness in light of a bigger purpose.
  3. Of course this list would be incomplete without mentioning The Bible. I know the books I choose to read influence the way I think, and it is my deepest desire that the way books influence me will be closer to biblical thinking and a biblical way of looking at the world.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books That Changed My Life

  1. hopeinbrazil says:

    I’ve been thinking about doing something similar on my blog. Like you, some of the books that have influenced me are not my favorites now, but they helped me to change my thinking in important areas. Great post.

Leave a Reply

