Books to Movies

It’s always so satisfying to see a good book when it is turned into a movie that is true to (or in a few rare cases better than) the book. Here are some books that I really enjoyed and that I would enjoy if they were turned into movies.

While making the following list, I realized that all the books I want turned into movies are all Christian novels. I would love to see some more quality, Christian films and I think these books are excellent candidates.

1. Any of the books that Chuck Black has written. I would love to see the Kingdom series turned into movies; they would be excellent! The good news is that there is work being done on the Knights of Arrethtrae series. It will be some time before the movies are finished but I was quite excited when I first heard that there was someone working on this project.

2. Deadline by Randy Alcorn – This is a well-written novel with strong Christian and prolife messages. If done correctly, this would be a fun, thought-provoking movie to watch.

3. Five Sacred Crossings by Craig Hazen – A very thought-provoking book and it would be great to see this portrayed by actors although most of the story takes place in a college classroom so I’m not sure how well that would translate to film.

4. The Horse and His BoyThe Silver Chair, The Magician’s Nephew, and The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis – I would really like to see these books turned into movies. However, I am very skeptical that they will be true to C.S. Lewis’ books after seeing how The Voyage of the Dawn Treader was so different from the book.

5. Only Angels are Bulletproof by Emily Ann Benedict – An intriguing storyline that also prompted thought about how God works in the world. This would be a fun book to see as a movie.

6. The Witness by Josh McDowell – A well-written, easy-to-read Christian novel that combines a well-thought-out Christianity with some action as well.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Books to Movies

  1. Paula says:

    I had a few Christian ones down on my list 🙂
    http://www.thephantomparagrapher.blogspot.com

  2. Cyndi says:

    Awesome! I’d love to see more quality Christian films made. 🙂

  3. I’ve been horribly disappointed with the Christian novels I’ve read. The one I attempted about ten years ago, about end times, was one of the most poorly written books I have ever read. Wish there was better writing out there.

    Here’s my post for today’s Top Ten Tuesday.

  4. kaye says:

    that’s the problem–the movie seldom turns out like the book. nice list. Kaye—the road goes ever ever on

  5. Chuck Black’s Kingdom books would make great movies!!! I hear they’re doing The Magician’s Nephew next!!! It will be awesome to see the creation of Narnia on the screen.

  6. Great list and nice choices.

    Stop and see mine and my giveaways.

Leave a Reply

