Six books I just HAD to have…but I still haven’t read

I’m following in the footsteps of Carrie at Reading to Know. Here is a list of books that I simply had to have…and yet, I still haven’t read them. They’ve been sitting on my bookshelves for a long time; I’ve had some of them for years and still haven’t gotten around to reading them.

  1. A World Lit Only By Fire by William Manchester – John MacArthur recommended this book on medieval Christianity when I heard him speak some two years ago. He mentioned it as a book he really enjoyed; it immediately piqued my attention. I got a copy of the book shortly thereafter but haven’t read it yet.
  2. Betrayal of Liliuokalani by Helena G. Allen – A little over two years ago, a guy from Hawaii that I knew recommended several books about Hawaiian history. Listening to him talk about his perspective on Hawaii (as a Hawaiian) was very interesting and I immediately put the books he recommended on my wish list. Since then, I have two of the books he told me about…but I haven’t read either one of them.
  3. The Closing of the American Mind by Allan Bloom – I’ve had this book for years and I’ve heard rave reviews about it. It’s one of those books that I feel like I ought to read but for some reason, I have a mental block against it. So…this book continues to sit on my TBR list.
  4. Any book by Wilkie Collins – I’ve read (and really enjoyed!) The Woman In White, The Moonstone, and Armadale. Because I enjoyed those three, I’m collecting Collins’ books. When I find a good price on his books, I have to get them. Currently, I have a short stack of his books that I’ve owned for a while and yet haven’t read. They are Blind Love, The Dead Secret, No Name, and Basil.
  5. The Discipline of Spiritual Discernment by Tim Challies – I purchased this book when it first came out on a pre-order special. Tim Challies even signed it! I was so excited to receive this book…but I haven’t actually read it yet.
  6. Systematic Theology Volume 1 by Norman Geisler – It would be intimidating to read an entire systematic theology…but certainly an admirable goal. When I first saw all three volumes of Geisler’s systematic theology at my uncle’s house, I immediately wanted to get my own set. I have volume 1, but I’ve never gotten the other two. This book makes the list not so much because I haven’t read it in its entirety…but because after I got it, I’ve barely even opened it.

For more discussions on books, head over to Reading to Know.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six books I just HAD to have…but I still haven’t read

  1. =D I have The Woman in White on my shelf too! FOR YEARS! Sigh. It’s supposed to be fantastic…just haven’t been in the right mood as yet, apparently.

    The Closing of the American Mind sounds interesting. But no, no, no, I must not think of other books right now!

    You have a signed copy of The Discipline of Spiritual Discernment!? You also have my envy.

Leave a Reply

