A Lesson from a Slinkie

What is the epitome of an old-fashioned and fun children’s toy? A Slinkie!

When we went Christmas shopping for Drew last December, we were browsing the shelves (looking for the perfect gift) and when we saw a Slinkie sitting there we knew that’s what we wanted to get him. We both had fun memories of playing with Slinkies when we were kids.

I was so excited and couldn’t wait for Drew to unwrap it on Christmas morning. Of course, he didn’t quite understand it at first, but once he was shown how to play with it he had fun. Carter even joined in. 🙂

The Slinkie lasted approximately 1 1/2 months, before this happened. 🙂

I guess our purpose in buying the Slinkie was still met. After all they had fun playing with it. 🙂 Apparently, it’s a lot of fun to hold one end of the Slinkie, have your brother hold the other end and run through the house stretching it as far as it can go. (Their laughter as they played together made me laugh and smile along with them.)

But now…the Slinkie is fairly useless. It’s a jumbled mess, which means that it isn’t even fun to run through the house with anymore. After all the ends are all tangled up. 🙂

One day as I was remembering the fun they had and the tangled mess that was the result of their few minutes of fun…I wondered…

What fun do I indulge in that ruins something that is perfectly good?

What do I choose to do that, perhaps, isn’t the best use for something?

Is it choosing to spend too much time doing fun things just for myself (i.e. computer, reading) to the exclusion of my family? Is it being too busy crossing everything off the to-do list to take time to play with Drew and Carter? Is it putting off the laundry simply because I don’t feel like doing it?

And so…as I sit here looking at the ruined Slinkie, I’m making a decision to choose the best things. I want to evaluate every activity with this question…

Will this activity ruin (or tarnish) something good in my life?

This entry was posted in Wholesome Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Lesson from a Slinkie

  1. Mikaela says:

    So very true! What an excellent illustration that Slinkie is of all the things I indulge in sinfully!

Leave a Reply

