This Week in Words – March 14

I am currently reading Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend. Ravi Zacharias is the author and general editor of the book. I am a big fan of Ravi Zacharias and the work that he is doing in the field of Christian apologetics. This book is definitely not disappointing. It is very thought provoking and challenging.

This particular quote caught my attention:

“Apologetics has two major components – one negative, one positive. Negatively, apologetics identifies and responds to objections that are raised against faith. Positively, it works out how best to communicate and commend the gospel to each audience it engages. It is therefore vitally important to determine the leading objections raised by [unbelievers] against faith and to consider how to deal with these – and also how best to engage atheism as we try to explore and explain the truth and relevance of the gospel.” (p. 21)

This quote probably caught my attention because I am just getting ready to begin my graduate studies in the field of Christian apologetics. But I do think this quote applies (or at least should apply) to all Christians. Even believers who do not choose to study apologetics full time should still be prepared to explain what they believe and why they believe it in an easy-to-understand way to unbelievers.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Week in Words – March 14

  1. I love listening to Ravi Zacharias’ podcast each week. Although I don’t always understand him! He is definitely an intelligent man and I am so thankful he is on our side. Thanks for sharing this quote. May God bless you richly as you gain more knowledge in this field.

  2. Barbara H. says:

    I’ve enjoyed listening to him on the radio sometimes but I have never read any of his books. This sounds like a good one.

    I have heard some well-meaning people dismiss apologetics because they feel we should only use the Bible to defend the faith, but I think the study of apologetics is very useful for making way for the gospel — pulling weeds that choke and breaking up bedrock that resists. What little I’ve read of it has helped me as a believer as well.

Leave a Reply

