Moving Past the Alphabet

Since the last time I shared what Drew was learning in school, I made a discovery. He knew all of the alphabet. Don’t ask me how, since the last letter we did together was L. ๐Ÿ™‚ So since my discovery I’ve decided to have the alphabet be a thing of the past (although perhaps we’ll do a review game now and then :-)) and move on to other things. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love it when Drew discovers a learning activity on his own. ๐Ÿ™‚ He found a Sudoku puzzle book on the shelf and wanted my help “doing numbers”. So he opened the book up to a random page and I told him what number to look for. He would find it and circle it. He loved this and was constantly asking for myย help. ๐Ÿ™‚

Drew loves trucks, planes, cars, and helicopters so he really enjoyed the work in this transporation pack. We’ve been working on carefully tracing lines.

Both boys really got into reading this past week. They love to have me read books to them and look through the books on their own. Drew was given a nice little collection of books for Christmas and his birthday…I’m thrilled that they are enjoying books. ๐Ÿ™‚

Carter doesn’t like to be left out of school time, so I had him begin learning how to draw circles. He loves to do school with us and is so proud of his work. ๐Ÿ™‚

Drew enjoys doing activities with numbers, so he enjoyed this color by number train. (And Carter enjoyed drawing circles with the different colored pencils. :-))

ย For more Tot School inspiration, visit 1+1+1=1ย and Homeschool Creations.

This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moving Past the Alphabet

  1. Amy B says:

    Wonderful job! It never ceases to amaze me at how smart kids can be when they are given the opportunity. You are doing a great job! I love seeing the joy of learning in Lula Mae ๐Ÿ™‚ such a good feeling!

  2. Dawn says:

    I love the simplicity of the circling numbers in a Sudoku book. My 3 year old would probably enjoy that, too!

Leave a Reply

