Most Unlikeable Literary Characters

1. Count Fosco from The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins – Perhaps Fosco shouldn’t even be on a list like this because (for me, at least) he’s one of those dislikable characters that I actually like disliking. You see, he’s an engaging, charismatic person and yet he’s so utterly evil. It’s almost dishonest to say I dislike him because in fact he’s a very good bad guy.

2. Estella from Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – I dislike Estella intensely. In fact, there is simply nothing redeeming about this character. Reading about her in this book is like listening to someone run their fingernails over a chalkboard…the mere thought of which makes me cringe.

3. Miss Havisham from Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – She’s just as bad as Estella! Again, she’s so dislikable that it’s hard even to read about her.

I ought to mention that essentially every single character in Great Expectations I dislike with a passion…even Pip. Let’s just say that in my opinion, Great Expectations could win the award for the book that contains the most dislikable characters.

4. Uncle Andrew from Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis – The treachery of the white witch or of Shift the ape does not even come close to the treachery of Uncle Andrew…and I’m not quite sure why. Perhaps it’s because he’s Digory’s uncle and yet he sends both Polly and Digory to a potentially unsafe place. An uncle is supposed to care for his nephews. I think that is the probably the biggest reason why Uncle Andrew is one of the most dislikable characters I’ve read about.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Most Unlikeable Literary Characters

  1. Chrissy Roe says:

    I agree that all the characters you mentioned with the exception of Count Fosco are very disklikeable. When I read The Woman in White, I actually like the Count, just becuase he was so clever and funny. I agree that he’s “a very good bad guy.” 🙂

  2. theveryhungrybookworm says:

    It is interesting to think on the characters that we don’t like! Lady MacBeth (I hate that I love to hate her) from MacBeth, President Snow from the Hunger Games, and the man in black from the Dark Tower Stephen King series.

  3. Barbara H. says:

    I agree about Great Expectations. I love others of Dickens’ books, but I am always amazed when anyone says GE is their favorite.

    One of my most unlikeable characters is Uriah Heep from David Copperfield. I’m not too crazy about Micawber, either, but he’s a good guy.

    Another would be Gollum from LOTR.

  4. Robert says:

    About Great Expectations: I disliked a lot of characters in that book. It seemed that – with the exception of Joe – every character hated Pip for God knows why, and I felt sorry for Pip because I like him. Magwitch threatened Pip’s life for no reason whatsoever and Mrs J. Gargery and Pumblechook both treated Pip like dirt. I hated Estella and the constant descriptions of how beautiful she was got annoying very quickly.

Leave a Reply

