Rest

FaithBarista_Rest2JamBadge

 

Rest…so many things can be wrapped up with that one little word. Relaxing nights with no interruptions. Necessary time each day to unwind from the stresses of life. A good cup of coffee in the mornings as you read the Bible. A fun movie while you cuddle with your spouse.

Rest, while alluring and often longed for, is something that is hard to make time for. Life gets busy. Meals, laundry, housework, school…the to-do list steals all of our most productive waking hours often leaving us feeling drained and empty at the end of the day. Perhaps you even dread waking up to do it all over again.

Rest is important. Rest is a good thing. And yet, like a lot of other good things, rest doesn’t just happen. Sometimes it takes a conscious effort and actually planning it into your day. (And even then sometimes your rest period might need to be jumbled around as the day progresses and little interruptions find their way into your life. :-))

It is so easy to feel like I deserve time (alone and by myself…with no loud noises emanating from other parts of the house) to rest and relax each day. And, at this stage in my life, daily quiet alone time is hard to find. Drew is an early riser, often waking up at 6:00 in the morning. He is also not needing two naps a day any more. As Drew and Carter are getting older each day new opportunities arise for them to learn how to be loving and kind to each other…opportunities which are often accompanied by loud protests.

There are some days when I feel like I just can’t go on. I have nothing else left to give and all I want to do is spend some time on myself…with no interruptions or distractions.

And I realize that I’m focusing on the wrong things.

God doesn’t make mistakes. This season of my life is not a mistake. Some days are hectic and exhausting, but if I change my attitude I can find rest. When I start to look at some of my daily responsibilities as an activity to be enjoyed, I find my necessary rest while still working on the to-do list.

I love to cook. Before we were married, spending time in the kitchen was a favorite pasttime. Now I often get so busy that I rush through my time in the kitchen, making it feel like a drag and bore. If I slow down and choose to purposely enjoy my job, I find rest.

I love to read. When I take the time to sit down and read a book (even if it’s just a few pages), I find rest. Drew and Carter might be racing around me or spinning in circles and falling down in laughter. Often, though, as they see me reading, they pick up their little books and join me on the couch. Not only am I finding rest, but I’m teaching my sons to develop the habit of reading good books.

It’s all a matter of attitude. What activities did you enjoy before your life got hectic? How can you still enjoy some of the same things and find rest at the same time?

This entry was posted in Wholesome Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rest

  1. Joyfull says:

    Fantastic reminders that so much is in our attitudes. Relaxed, restful, purposeful tasks can get so much accomplished! Rest is so important and often so neglected. Thanks for a great post.

  2. Amy B says:

    God can bring you rest in so many different ways. What a great reminder. I am in the same phase of life that you are, and I won’t lie, I have had the same selfish thoughts. I find myself thinking “I work so hard, I deserve time for me” and even if that is true, it is still selfish. I have to tell myself that this part of my life is important and special in its own way. Before we know it our kids will not need us as much and we will be begging them to need us. I want to enjoy this crazy, tiring time!

  3. Sheryl says:

    I loved your observation that God doesn’t make mistakes. He knows the demands of each season of life and if we look, we can find the moments of rest we need.

Leave a Reply

