To Love Through Difficult Times

Sleepless nights…coughing…crying…extra naps…cranky…high fevers…wishing I was sick instead. Nothing can quite prepare you for the exhausting job of being a mom to sick children.

It requires long, sleepless, exhausting hours of constant love and care because sometimes nothing will make the little one feel better except sitting in mommy’s arms. The laundry will be piled high, toys strewn across the floor, and most of the day is spent watching movies.

All of this is well and good if the illness only lasts one or two days. As soon, as a persistent flu bug strikes, life gets rocky. All of a sudden the days drag by. You can’t remember the last time you were able to get out of the house. The only thing you want is to spend 24 uninterrupted hours in bed.

Thankfully, I have only found myself in this situation once in my (almost) three years as a mom. True, there have been lots of times the boys have gotten sick, but last month Drew caught a flu bug that wiped him out for several days. For over a week, Tim and I were unable to get a good nights sleep.

Everything was going well. I cuddled and held my precious son. We watched movies together. I fixed food that sounded good to him. We rested together in “mommy’s bed”, because, apparently, it’s more comfortable than his own bed.

One morning, as I said good-bye to Tim (he had to work overtime that day), all I wanted to do was cry. I felt like I didn’t have anything else left to give. I wanted to crawl back into bed and forget about the world.

And that was when my heart cried out to God for help. Help to love my boys even through the crankiness. Help to serve and take care of them despite my exhaustion. Help to still be a loving wife when my husband arrived home from work.

It’s in the difficult times that God’s grace is made perfect in my weakness. When I have nothing else left to give, I can more effectively be a channel of HIS love and kindness because I know that “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”. (Philippians 4:13)

This entry was posted in Godly Living, Wholesome Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Love Through Difficult Times

  1. Amy B says:

    So incredibly true! Both my little ones had the stomach bug a few weeks back and it was the hardest thing I have gone through as a mom. Seeing my 8 month old choke and dry heave broke my heart.

    Luckily those times pass, even though they seem to drag on forever! I can’t help but remind myself that I am blessed my children simply had a flu. There are parents out there who watch their children battle diseases. Wishing every moment that they could take that disease away from them. My babies are healthy and happy. How can I complain knowing that?

  2. What a true post about motherhood and the challenges of late nights and exhaustion. May God cont. to give us each the strength we need to parent well even among those hard times.
    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

