TOH Update

In January, we made a couple recipes from our cookbook.

Chunky Chicken Veggie Soup

This soup was good…but nothing exceptional. While eating it, I was thinking, “This tastes an awful like a ‘dump soup’ that I’d make without a recipe.” I prefer throwing ingredients into a crockpot to make soup to using a recipe….unless the recipe is absolutely amazing.

Crispy Chicken Strip Salad

This was pretty good actually…but took more time than I would normally take on preparing dinner. The fried chicken strips were ok, not amazing. The candied almonds were a nice touch…but had so much sugar that it’s not something we’ll be doing regularly. But the addition of fresh blueberries to the salad was amazing! I was skeptical about the fresh fruit on a salad but it was very good; I think in the future we’ll be having some fresh fruit options available when we have salad bars.

Sour Cream Blueberry Pancakes with Blueberry Sauce

I absolutely loved these pancakes. The pancakes themselves were very yummy….better than most of the pancakes I make. The blueberry sauce really made it so much better. These were just as good the next day when I reheated them. Definitely try these!

Brie with Artichokes Unfortunately this was a very unphotogenic dish, as our cheese oozed all over the baking dish. 😦 It tasted good though. 🙂

Cranberry Bog Bars I was so excited when I found cranberries on sale for $0.99. 🙂 So I made some homemade cranberry sauce and whipped these bars up (very quick and easy). They were good, although nothing too spectacular about them.

Spicy Pork Chili Chili is a great comfort food and a great meal for a cold winter night. This chili was good!

Melinda and Carrie

This entry was posted in TOH Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

