Books Read in January

I was able to do quite a bit of reading in January. I’m trying to take advantage of the time I have available now to dedicate to reading. I have the opportunity to go back to school for my master’s degree; once I begin studying, I figure I’ll have less time to spend reading what I want to read. Because of that, I’m trying to get in as much “fun” reading as possible before school books take forefront in my reading.

I read ten books in January.

1. Life Without Limits by Nick Vujicic

2. Kingdom’s Dawn by Chuck Black (review coming soon – but I will say this was an excellent book)

3. Among the Imposters by Margaret Petersen Haddix – A book about a place where it is illegal to have more than two children. In this world, there are illegal third children assuming fake identities in order to build a “normal” life. An interesting read.

4. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart – I wasn’t a big fan of this book although there was nothing wrong with it. The book was fairly long; the beginning was interesting but then the story had a harder time holding my attention through the middle.

5. Saving Leonardo by Nancy Pearcey – An excellent read! This book examines how worldviews are portrayed through the arts (primarily painting and literature). I had never stopped to consider that paintings are actually a reflection of the philosophy and ideology of the artists. This book is not a super easy read but it is definitely a worthwhile read.

6. Deeper Water by Robert Whitlow – A strange book. In some ways I identified with the main character (she is a very conservative Christian) and in other ways I didn’t. The book is supposed to be a mystery and it did a great job making me interested in the story and the climax…but the resolution was very unsatisfactory (a bit of a letdown). Anyway…I don’t think I’ll be reading the subsequent books in this series.

7. After the Funeral by Agatha Christie – This is one of Agatha Christie’s better novels. I was absolutely shocked at who the perpetrator was!

8. The Goodness of God by Randy Alcorn (already reviewed)

9. The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin – An interesting and thought-provoking read. I would recommend this book. (Jessica posted a brief review of this book at LifeAsMom.)

10. Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers – Typically, I maintain that the book is better than the movie…but not in this case. Disney’s version of Mary Poppins is definitely better than P.L. Travers version…and I’m not even a big fan of the movie! The book-version of Mary Poppins is snobby, grouchy, and not very likable at all.

I also was able to read sections of several books. I started (and didn’t finish) A Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs. I won’t say much about that book here because I will be posting a review in the near future about that particular book.

I also read one chapter out of Habits of the Mind by James W. Sire. It looked like the rest of the book would be excellent but there was one chapter about the importance of reading and that was the reason I checked the book out from the library. It was a very good chapter.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

