How to Relieve Boredom

I’m in a season of life where I do not have many outside demands on my time…and this leads to quite a bit of free time. I’m the type of person who functions best when I have definite goals and definite time lines to complete the goals.

Right now however, I have very few definite goals with definite due dates. Most of what needs to be done floats around without a particular time it needs to be accomplished. So I seem frequently to be faced with boredom…i.e. nothing I have to do and nothing I want to do.

When I was in college, I had reading to do and writing to accomplish by certain due dates. It was easy to find projects that needed to be done. When there are tasks that need to be accomplished, it’s hard to be bored.

Every now and then I’ll find something I want to do…and again boredom is not a problem.

But when there is nothing that needs to be done and nothing I want to do, I find myself wandering aimlessly with little focus and accomplishing very little.

After a recent stretch of several days with seemingly little to do (beyond doing a few things for the class I’m teaching and preparing for a wedding that I’m a bridesmaid in), I knew I needed to figure out how to beat this boredom.

I recognized that there is plenty to do…i.e. reading, personal study, cleaning, going to the library. But I was too indecisive and lazy; nothing sounded fun.

I figured it was time to buckle down and just pick something to do…so I did.

I decided I wanted to do some reading/studying on the Christian worldview. I browsed my bookshelves and found a couple books on the subject. One in particular captured my attention; it’s called Hollywood Worldview by Brian Godawa. I began reading it and was very quickly hooked. I’m learning about watching movies critically and I’m accomplishing something.

So to beat boredom…buckle down and pick something to do!

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Godly Living, Wholesome Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Relieve Boredom

  1. bekahcubed says:

    I had a similar experience during a summer I had taken off of school. While I had plenty of things that I wanted to do theoretically, I didn’t really “feel” like doing anything. The answer was, as you said, simply doing something.

  2. Jamie says:

    Very cute post Melinda! And it is so true. Even I get bored and I have plenty I should be doing.

Leave a Reply

