Homemade Croissants

When I was making my shopping list for this week, I needed croissants. I had just seen a tutorial on how to make croissants and, since I’ve wanted to try it for awhile, I decided to cross them off my list and try making them myself. πŸ™‚ (This is the recipe I followed.)

Mix 3 1/2 cups flour, 1 tablespoon yeast, 6 1/4 tablespoons sugar, 1 tablespoon salt and 1 1/2 cups of warm milk together for 10 minutes. (I had to add more flour because my dough was too sticky. However, add the flour slowly. I ended up putting in a bit too much and my croissants weren’t as light as they should have been.)

Place in a greased bowl and place the bowl in a warm spot for 1 1/2 hours or until the dough has doubled in size.

Set out 12 tablespoons of butter. When it has reached room temperature, roll it out between two sheets of wax paper. I actually just smashed it thin with my hands. πŸ™‚

When the dough is done rising, roll it out into a rectangle and place the butter on top of the dough. Fold one long side over the center and then the other long side over the center. Fold both short ends over the center. You should end up with a square pile of dough.

Once your dough is all folded, roll it back out into a rectangle and place in the freezer for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, repeat the folding, rolling and freezing process at least twice more. (I actually wish I had done it more than 3 times…)

After the last 30 minutes in the freezer, roll the dough out very thin. Cut into triangles and roll up into croissant shapes. πŸ™‚

Bake at 375 for 25 minutes…until the croissants are brown.

This post is linke to Try New Adventures Thursday.

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homemade Croissants

  1. Oh wow…I bet these were amazing! What did you think of the outcome?

    Thanks for linking up to Try New Adventures Thursday, Carrie. πŸ™‚

  2. Cherilyn says:

    I will have to try these. I’ve been on a croissant kick lately and have spent more than I care to admit on them!

  3. Sarah says:

    Oh yum. I’ve been wanting to try croissants with chocolate in them. Would you just put the chocolate into them before rolling? That’s my guess.

  4. wholesomewomanhood says:

    They were so good! I’m looking forward to making them again… πŸ™‚

  5. wholesomewomanhood says:

    That’s a good question! I would love to hear how it turns out if you try it. πŸ™‚ Chocolate croissants sound really good!

  6. Amy B says:

    Yummy yummy! Oh I love trying new recipes for the holidays! This one will be great!

Leave a Reply

