Baby Shower Advice

A-Wise-Woman-Builds-Her-Home

As I’m reading back through the wisdom that was shared with me at Drew’s baby shower, I’m realizing that these words are treasures. At the baby shower, I read each page and then came home and put them away. Now, almost three years later, I’m seeing the importance of this advice not just in the newborn years but throughout the years of parenting.

Devotion to your husband and family.Family dynamics change immediately after a baby is born and things only get busier. šŸ™‚ I’m continually striving to put my family first and to let the unimportant go.

Respect God and His creation. Just reading these words is convicting! How often my life and my attitudes aren’t respectful. Recently, I’ve realized in a new way that the attitudes Drew and Carter see in me are the attitudes they also express.

Eager to serve those you love. When days are long and nights are even longer, it’s easy to lose sight of this goal. It’s easy to lose the excitement of serving Tim and my precious little boys. And yet, when I think of how blessed I am, I realize that no matter how tired I am it is a privilege to be able to care for my family.

Willingness to yield to others. Growing up my parents taught me to “yield my rights”. There is nothing quite like parenthood to magnify the situations where this quality is needed. šŸ™‚

Wisdom for the moment. As the boys are growing older, I realize more and more how there are so many things I don’t know! And the way to find the wisom? Prayer, reading the Bible and learning from other godly parents.

Inspire a creative mind. This is so important to Tim and me. We don’t want Drew and Carter to be dependent on technology to be entertained. They are both so creative and have so much fun with simple things like a box or playing outside.

Love the unloveable. There are moments when love isn’t felt. And yet, love isn’t a feeling. Love is a choice…a choice to love even when attitudes are rotten. šŸ™‚

Live in the moment. It’s so easy to look forward to the day when the boys can be more independent. And yet, the years have already passed so quickly and they are growing up too fast. I already miss their precious baby faces.

Initiate service to others. This one is tough since I stay home most of the time…leaving with two little boys is just a big production! šŸ™‚ However, it have been neat to see the service opportunities the Lord has given me even while staying at home. This blog, through email, making meals for neighbors and friends. And, of course, I’m starting the boys early on this concept by seeking to serve each other. šŸ™‚

Admire the humble. Pride is never something that is fun to be around. Even now I’m working with Drew and Carter to think of others before themselves. It is tough, especially since self is always thought of so quickly.

Motivate others to accept themselves. God created Drew and Carter different from each other. One of my desires is that they will grow up appreciating their differences and encouraging their individual strengths.

(I’ve written twice before on this topic. If you’re interested in reading other advice that was given to me…Post #1 and Post #2)

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Child Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

