Rejoice

“I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice, and to do good in their lives.” Ecclesiastes 3:12

So much is summed up in the word rejoice. It’s not just a smile on your face orย  a happy word, although it definitely includes them. It’s about a heart attitude that is full of gratefulness to God. Recently, I’ve pondered how to teach my sons to rejoice. I play hymns during the day. When bad attitudes begin to appear I remind them that they are not pleasing God. But I’m discovering that what it really boils down to is me…their mommy. It’s not just what I tell them to do or the music we listen to. They learn through my example. And with that realization I’m humbled. So often instead of seeing mommy with a joyful attitude, they see a mommy who is rushing to get things done or too busy to take the time to play with them. And so to focus my mind on the things that God has done in my life and that I should be rejoicing in I wrote down a few of the things I’m grateful for. ๐Ÿ™‚

1. A home – Tim and I are still constantly amazed at the wonderful home God gave us. As we drive up our street and see our house, it’s amazing! Our own home with plenty of space WITH a big backyard. It’s such a joy to see how much fun Drew and Carter have outside.

2. Family night pizza night – Friday nights are our family night. After two years of Tim working at a job where he rarely had two consecutive days off, we are loving his new job that allows us to look forward to our weekends together. ๐Ÿ™‚ And not only do we have a regular family night to look forward to, but Tim enjoys making each Friday night special. He makes the pizzas for us and often plans a special treat for us…like making a cake with the boys, or drinking a soda with dinner, or watching a movie.

3. The cooler summerEveryone (including strangers) have told us that moving to the desert would mean insanely hot summers. By all accounts, this past summer has been amazingly cool. There have only been a few weeks where the temperatures were in the 100s. And for that, I’m grateful! ๐Ÿ™‚

This post is linnked to Gratituesday.

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in God's Faithfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

