Basil of Baker Street

I am an avid fan of Sherlock Holmes as can be seen by #3 on my 101 list. Because I enjoy Sherlock Holmes, I also have enjoyed some cleverly written spoofs off of Conan Doyle’s work. For instance, a Christian author, Ed Dunlop, wrote a series featuring Sherlock Jones. They are excellent books for young people.

When my sisters and I were younger, we enjoyed watching The Great Mouse Detective, featuring Basil of Baker Street and Dr. Dawson. Basil studied under Sherlock Holmes and just like Holmes, Basil is an expert sleuth, as can be seen in this video.

I enjoyed the movie so much that I actually named my dog after a dog that features fairly predominantly in the Disney movie. In fact, my Toby even looks (sort of!) like the Toby from the film.

Anyway, I recently discovered The Great Mouse Detective was based on a book entitled Basil of Baker Street by Eve Titus. Carrie, over at Reading to Know, posted recently about all sorts of Disney films and the books on which they were based.

I ordered a copy of the book from our library and enjoyed the book almost as much as I remember enjoying the movie when I was young. The movie deviated somewhat significantly from the book; in fact, perhaps the only similarity is that both crimes that need to be solved are kidnapping.

But the book is worth reading. Basil of Baker Street and Dr. Dawson are just as much fun to read and watch as Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

