Canon 20D

I’ve never been much of a photographer. In fact, the only camera I’ve ever owned was years ago. My grandparents gave me my own camera. That was back in the days of film and every time we finished a roll of film we had to take them to Costco to get our pictures developed. 🙂

Of course, now there are digital cameras. And we have a Canon 20 EOS 20D. (I have no idea what that means…it’s just what’s on the camera. :-)) I’m sure that I wouldn’t have access to such a nice camera if it wasn’t for Tim, who bought this camera for work many years ago.

Unfortunately I have no idea how to really use our camera. Other than point and shoot. 🙂 But I would  love to learn how to take some great pictures with this great camera. So I was excited to find this blog that is going to share one picture taking tip each day during the month of October.

And yesterday’s tip was to figure out how to change the shutter speed on your camera. Thanks to her tutorial and a little internet search I think I have it figured out. And I’m amazed at how changing the shutter speed can completely change how a picture looks.

(It would have been nice to take picture’s of a cuter subject [like Drew or Carter]. But the boys were taking a nap and I have this feeling that they wouldn’t have sat quite as still as this chair did. :-D)

2 seconds

This was taken at a shutter speed of 2 seconds. I rather like the brightness it added to our little “office” space. 🙂

1 second exposure…once again it lightened up the area. However, it isn’t quite as bright, which means you can see more details.

1/8 of a second…this is almost too dark. It’s not quite bright enough to easily see all the details.

1/30 of a second…and this is so dark you can barely even see the desk! 🙂

I’m definitely enjoying learning more about our camera. And I’m hoping that, by the end of October, I’ll be a fabulous photographer! 🙂

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Canon 20D

  1. darcy @ m3b says:

    Well done!

    Perfect experiment. In this case, you had to shoot pretty slow to get the light you wanted. The blur you see in the first two is from camera shake. It’s nearly impossible to hold still for 2 seconds. But we’re only looking at lighting here, and this was a great experiment!

Leave a Reply

