Homemade Yogurt

Making yogurt always seemed rather pioneerish. It gives the implication of a simpler life where you make what you need instead of running out and buying it. I have thought for awhile that it would be fun to make my own yogurt so I included it on my 101 list. (#30) But making yogurt seemed like a lot of work so I put it off…and forgot that it was included in my list of goals.

And then…one Sunday after attending my parent’s church I started talking with a friend. And she mentioned how easy it is to make yogurt in a crockpot. After talking with her I knew that I was ready. 🙂

I did a Google search and came across these easy instructions on how to make yogurt in a crockpot. And I had so much fun! It was simple, easy and tastes good. And you don’t have to do too much. 🙂

Pour 1/2 a gallon of milk into a 4-quart crockpot. Turn on low and let it cook for 2 1/2 hours. (Please excuse my rather dirty crockpot. :-)) Then you turn it off and let it sit for 3 hours. Mix in 1/2 cup of plain yogurt (that has live cultures in it). Wrap a towel around your crockpot (for insulation) and let it sit for another 8 hours.

And that is all there is to it! The yogurt was thinner than store bought yogurt and didn’t taste as sour. It was so simple and so easy! I’m looking forward to making it again! 🙂

~ Carrie ~

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Yogurt

  1. Deborah says:

    I have wanted to try and make yogurt myself as well. Did you use whole milk? Does is matter?

  2. wholesomewomanhood says:

    I did use whole milk, although you can use any type of milk. I did read, however, that the less fat content the milk has the thinner the yogurt will be.

  3. Steven says:

    @Deborah

    you can use any kind of milk you like: whole, semi-skimmed, skimmed, UHT, soya, goat, sheep, bufalo, etc.

Leave a Reply

