Blessed Be the Name

I don’t know about you but suffering is not my first choice for my life. I would prefer that God would pour out abundant blessings on me while alleviating all forms of suffering and pain.

But life doesn’t really work that way. God sends times and seasons of darkness and pain.

On one particularly depressing day, the Lord brought to mind the story of Job.

“The Lord gave, and the Lord hath taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.” (Job 1:21)

To be perfectly honest, Job was the last person in the world I wanted God to bring to my mind!

But I reluctantly realized I had no grounds on which to criticize or complain against what God chose to do in my life.

Even though I just wanted to be sad and drepressed, the real question came as to whether I was willing to praise God’s sovereign hand in the midst of these circumstances.

“But he [Job] said unto her, Thou speakest as one of the foolish women speaketh. What? shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil? In all this did not Job sin with his lips.” (Job 1:10)

Am I willing only to accept the fun, enjoyable stages of life from the Lord and not the painful, challenging ones?

How am I going to respond when God sends suffering my way?

Am I willing to accept “evil” from the Lord and not just good? That is the important question I need to answer. Honestly, all too often my answer is not the right one. But praise God…He is still working on me.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in God's Faithfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blessed Be the Name

  1. bekahcubed says:

    I’ve been thinking recently about how often the New Testament encourages believers to rejoice in their trials–not just “in spite” of their trials, but even “because of” their trials.

    That’s not usually my first response, but I pray that God would change my heart that I would “rejoice to the extent that [I] partake of Christ’s sufferings, that when His glory is revealed, [I] may also be glad with exceeding joy.” (I Peter 4:13)

Leave a Reply

