Reading in August

I read several good books in August…not as many as I read in July but still a fairly decent number. I read five books…two mysteries and three biographies.

1. Still Growing by Kirk Cameron – This was an excellent book and one I would definitely recommend. Cameron’s writing style is funny and very easy to read. He is also an example of being willing to stand up for God-honoring principles during his acting career (after he was saved). Cameron is also very honest about his own short-comings. As I mentioned before, Cameron is a very funny person. He had me laughing out loud on an occasion or two.

2. Nomad by Ayaan Hirsi Ali – Again, an excellent biography but not one I would recommend across the board. Ali is an atheist; the appeal to her books however is that she grew up Muslim and then escaped to a life in the West when her father arranged a marriage for her. Ali writes compellingly about the dangers in Islam. Because of her openness and clear, level-headed thinking, I appreciate both of her books. (Her first book is Infidel; I read it earlier this year.) However, she is a feminist and an atheist. Because we have such different religious beliefs, I do disagree with Ali on some of her conclusions or the way she looks at issues. She also talks graphically about certain issues that make this book inappropriate for young girls. If you have any more questions regarding this book, I would be more than happy to discuss it further via email. (wholesomewomanhoodATgmailDOTcom)

3. Broken English by P.L. Gaus – Gaus has written several mystery books that are set in Amish communities. I really enjoyed several of his books that I read a couple years ago or so. I didn’t find this book to be as compelling as the previous books I read…but it was an ok read. Definitely a clean book.

4. I read a biography about Josef Mengele, a doctor during the Holocaust. He performed barbaric experiments on prisoners during the war. He particularly enjoyed experimenting on twins. I don’t include the title or author because the book wasn’t worth recommending.

5. The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie – I’m not a huge fan of Agatha Christie but I have enjoyed several of her books. I enjoyed this mystery; the twists and turns were well done. But Poirot’s sidekick, Hastings, was seriously annoying on more than one occasion. He had me rolling my eyes at him all too often.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books, Melinda's 101 List. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

