Cajun Chicken Pasta

I found this wonderful recipe and it looked so wonderful that I immediately added it to my meal plan for August. (Creamy chicken over pasta…with sauteed onions and bell peppers…how can that not be good? :-)) However, when it came time to actually make this dish, I was out of milk, didn’t have cajun seasoning or white wine and we don’t like okra and tomatoes. So I improvised and…it tasted delicious!

3 carrots, peeled and sliced
2 celery ribs, chopped
1/2 onion, sliced (I would have put in more…except that was all I had)
1 red bell pepper, sliced
1/2 cup cream cheese
1/2 cup plain yogurt
2 1/2 cups chicken broth
garlic powder
oregano
cayenne
salt
pepper
2 1/2 cups chicken, cooked and chopped
oil
1/2 cup of water
2 tablespoons flour
1 pound spaghetti

Cook pasta according to directions on the box.

Saute chicken in oil until hot, adding garlic powder, oregano, cayenne, salt and pepper to taste. Remove the chicken from the pan onto a plate.

Saute carrots in oil until they begin to get soft. Add the rest of the vegetables. (I love what the original directions say…”try to get veggies as dark/black as possible”. I didn’t have to worry about burning them! :-)) Add some garlic powder, oregano, cayenne, salt and pepper to taste. Remove vegetables from pan onto a plate.

Pour chicken broth into pan. Cook for 3 minutes. Add cream cheese and yogurt. Turn fire to medium. Mix the water and flour together and pour into pan.  Cook and stir until thickened. Add garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste. Add in chicken and vegetables. Cook till heated through.

Serve over pasta.

This post is linked to Tempt My Tummy and Tasty Tuesday.

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cajun Chicken Pasta

  1. Wow. That looks delicious. I’m definitely going to try this one. Thanks!

  2. Oh I love this, it makes me so happy when someone gets inspired by a dish, but then tweaks it to their liking. I love your changes and bet it was deliciuos.

  3. Melinda says:

    That happens to me all the time! I’ll find a recipe that looks good – but I won’t have all the ingredients I need – so I improvise. Sometimes I think my best dishes are invented that way! This one looks great!

  4. Brenda says:

    Sounds like a delicious summer meal!

Leave a Reply

