Finally…An Update :-)

I had every intention of updating as I finished my four recipes on Friday. And then…life happened. 🙂 I didn’t get started cooking until 2:00.

I got the Sensational Slush made and in the freezer…

I got the Carrot Cabbage Slaw in the refrigerator (minus the apples, which we added last minute)…

I used the sugar cookie dough to make the fruit pizza. The cream cheese and whipped topping “sauce” tasted great!! 🙂 (Unfortunately, I forgot to snap a picture.)

While I worked on getting the pizza in the oven, my friend mixed up the carrot cheesecake. I popped the cheesecake in the oven, ate dinner and ran out the door a class I am attending. I planned to finish up the cheesecake when I got home and I was hoping to get the meatloaf mixed up so that I could get it in the crockpot early Saturday morning. My class ended up letting out late, I sat in traffic coming home…so when I got home it was 11:o0 at night…and I didn’t feel like cooking. 🙂

So…Saturday morning I got up, cooked the meatloaf in the oven (kept it warm in a crockpot), and stuck the pork chops in a crockpot. My family arrived around 9:30…and we were in the kitchen until 2:30 when we ate. (Yes…we ate half an hour late…that’s because the oven was turned off accidentally…while it was supposed to baking. :-))

And…by the time 2:30 came around I was so hungry I completely forgot to take a picture of all our food. 😦 So just imagine my kitchen with all availale counter space filled with food. 🙂

Santa Fe Cheesecake
This turned out pretty good. Nothing too spectacular. Perhaps it was the name…cheesecakes are supposed to be sweet. Maybe if it was called a Santa Fe cheeseball it would taste better… 🙂

Snortin Good Salad

This salad was good. It had a nice bit of variety with the lettuce, cauliflower, and purple onion. The bacon gave it nice flavor.

Delicate Mint Thins
This was a very interesting cookie. The chocolate covered side tasted pretty good…the plain side tasted like a butter cookie with a mint pieces thrown in. I rather thought they tasted like salad cookies…

Sunny Carrot Salad
This was a very tasty salad!

Sensational Slush
So delicious! I loved the fresh fruity strawberry taste.

Cornread Pork Casserole
This was definitely a hit. I stuck the pork chops with the sauce in a crockpot around 10:00 in the morning. About half an hour before we ate I added the cornbread stuffing.

Carrot Cheesecake
This was yummy!

Chicken Veggie Fajitas
I’ve been looking for a good fajita recipe that tastes as good as the seasoning packet you can buy at the store. This is it! This was so delicious!

Party Carrots
Very cheesy…if you don’t like Velveeta, you won’t like this.

Glazed Meatloaf
We got a mixed respone with this one…some people liked it others thought it didn’t taste the greatest. 🙂

Angel Shrimp Pasta Bake

Jalapeno Shrimp Boats
Delicious, but spicy. 🙂

Black Bean Avacado Salad
We served it with tortilla chips. It was good, but if you got a bite with the spicy pepper in it, your mouth was on fire! 🙂

Carrot Cabbage Slaw
This reminded me of the way KFC’s coleslaw tasted…

Fruit Pizza Supreme
This was absolutely delicious! The sugar cookie crust was perfectly soft and chewy. The fresh fruit was light and delicious. Definitely a recipe to keep and make again.

~ Melinda and Carrie ~

This entry was posted in TOH Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finally…An Update :-)

  1. Jamie says:

    WOW! That’s a lot of food you gals made. Have you ever had a cookbook party before? Such a clever idea.

  2. wholesomewomanhood says:

    We’ve done two others and they are so much fun! 🙂 We have a lot of fun cooking together. 🙂

  3. bekahcubed says:

    Way to go, gals! That sounds like an amazing meal–and like a lot of work. I have a half-hearted goal of making every recipe in a couple of my cookbooks (inspired, of course, by Julie and Julia, just like yours)–but I only work on it in fits and starts, so I don’t anticipate getting done anytime soon. It might be a lifetime project.

Leave a Reply

