Wrap Up to Narnia Reading Challenge

During the month of July, I read all seven of the Chronicles of Narnia books. I greatly enjoyed reading all seven of the books. I look forward to rereading them again someday.

Favorite Book: The Magician’s Nephew

I can’t quite identify why this book is my favorite but I think it goes back to the first time I read this book. Before reading The Magician’s Nephew, I was very familiar with the story of The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. It took me years before I read this book but when I read The Magician’s Nephew, it felt like so many components from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe were explained. The lamppost, the wardrobe, and Jadis’ entrance into Narnia were all explained. It was a perfect book explaining the origins of the wonderful country of Narnia.

Least Favorite Book: Prince Caspian

I feel like this is the slowest moving book. More than half of the book is spent with the Pevensie children  trying to meet up with Prince Caspian. After they meet up, it seems like very little happens.

Favorite Character: Puddleglum

I seem to be drawn toward literary characters that are melancholy and pessimistic in nature. Puddleglum was a delightful character with his “sad” nature. Puddleglum reminded me quite a bit of Eyeore…who happens to be my favorite Winnie-the-Pooh character.

Least Favorite Character: Tirian

Tirian was the last king of Narnia and one of the main characters in The Last Battle. After the strong nature of Frank (the first king of Narnia), Peter (the High King), and Caspian (a great adventurer), Tirian seemed to be a bit of a weak king.

Why I Enjoyed Reading All Seven Books in a Month: I enjoyed reading all the books in such quick succession because it allowed me to keep track of all the characters, their relationships to each other, and the timeline in the land of Narnia. It was wonderful to see how all of the wonderful characters from the books were reunited in the final chapters of The Last Battle. The ending of the seventh book did a superb job of wrapping up the story.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wrap Up to Narnia Reading Challenge

  1. Miss Raquel says:

    Hello there!
    Did you enter in my Narnia Fashion Event? This post is pertaining to the Narnia Reading Challenge – which is not being hosted at my site. Please let me know 🙂 I saw that you entered this post under my Linky (on The Christian Fashionista), but I don’t remember seeing you enter.
    Thank you!

    Blessings,
    ~Miss Raquel

  2. Melanie says:

    I have only read four of the Narnia books, but so far I’d have to say “The Magician’s Nephew” is my favorite too. 🙂

  3. bekahcubed says:

    I agree on Puddleglum and Tirian. While I’m not sure if I’d place them as favorite and least favorite (I always have a terrible time picking favorites), my opinion towards the former is definitely more positive and my opinion towards the latter more negative.

    Puddleglum is such a funny creature, in part because of his Marshwiggle-ness, but partly just because of his own odd personality.

Leave a Reply

