Banana Ice Cream

Ok…so I wouldn’t go quite so far as to say this tastes like ice cream although I have seen it referred to as such. 🙂 In fact when I first saw this “recipe” mentioned on a blog, I thought it sounded rather…interesting. Whipped bananas? Taste like ice cream? Ummm…I don’t think so! 🙂

But then I saw an idea to add some chocolate. Now I’m willing to try just about anything if chocolate is involved! 🙂 And to my surprise this is actually good! It’s thick and creamy…cold…quick…and healthy. What more could I ask for in a summer snack? 🙂

Peel bananas and cut each one into three pieces. (I normally use three bananas when I make this for me and the boys.) Freeze until solid. (If I stick the bananas in the freezer in the morning, they are nice and frozen by afternoon snack time. :-)) When you’re ready to eat them, stick them in your blender with some milk (not too much!), honey, vanilla, and cocoa powder. Blend until thick and creamy. And to make the experience 100 times better, share with two cute little boys. 😉

Unfortunately this snack is not photogenic. 😦 But the end product more than makes up for it. 🙂

~ Carrie ~

For more frugal tips, visit Life as Mom.

This entry was posted in Frugal Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Ice Cream

  1. kristina says:

    Sounds yummy! Once I tried frozen bananas with lemon juice in the blender and it was so good! It tasted like lemon yogurt!

  2. Nathan says:

    It’s called a smoothie 🙂

    Try all sorts of frozen fruit and fruit juices with it in different combinations. It is a favorite summer snack.

Leave a Reply

