Reflections from Prince Caspian

“Lucy,” [Aslan] said, “we must not lie here for long. You have work in hand, and much time has been lost today.”

“Yes, wasn’t it a shame?” said Lucy. “I saw you all right. They wouldn’t believe me. They’re all so –”

From somewhere deep inside Aslan’s body there came the faintest suggestion of a growl.

“I’m sorry, ” said Lucy, who understood some of his moods. “I didn’t mean to start slanging the others. But it wasn’t my fault anyway, was it?”

The Lion looked straight into her eyes.

“Oh, Aslan,” said Lucy. “You don’t mean it was? How could I — I couldn’t have left the others and come up to you alone, how could I? Don’t look at me like that…oh well, I supposed I could. Yes, and it wouldn’t have been alone, I know, not if I was with you…”

Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis

Again, I don’t know if Lewis meant for there to be spiritual analogies in his books…but this quote caught my attention. Lucy knew Aslan; she should have trusted him. He had proven himself faithful during her adventures in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. When she saw Aslan and he called her to him, Lucy should have gone to him immediately. Yet she didn’t because she couldn’t convince Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Trumpkin to go with her. Her trust in Aslan should have led her to follow him faithfully regardless of what the others did.

Similarly, God has proven Himself faithful in the life of every Christian. Each believer should trust Him so explicitly that when He calls, he runs to Him immediately. God doesn’t call Christians in the same way that Aslan called Lucy, that is in audible tones (at least He doesn’t usually work in that way). God does speak to His followers through the Bible. What He calls us to can indeed be “divisive” even among fellow believers. But when God leads, His people must follow.

Though none go with me, still I will follow;
Though none go with me, still I will follow;
Though none go with me, still I will follow;
No turning back, no turning back.
~ Sundar Singh ~

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books, God's Faithfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections from Prince Caspian

  1. Great song to accompany the truths you’ve pointed out here. Where He leads me, I will follow.

Leave a Reply

