Best Quotes From Chronicles of Narnia

Here are several of my favorite quotes from five of the seven Chronicles of Narnia books. While reading the books, I found quotes in almost every one that jumped out and caught my attention.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

“For Mr. Beaver had warned them, ‘He’ll be coming and going,’ he had said. ‘One day you’ll see him and another you won’t. He doesn’t like being tied down –and of course he has other countries to attend to. It’s quite all right. He’ll often drop in. Only you mustn’t press him. He’s wild, you know. Not like a tame lion.”

The Horse and His Boy

“Then it was you who wounded Aravis?”

“It was I.”

“But what for?”

“Child,” said the Voice, “I am telling you your story, not hers. I tell no one any story but his own.” (emphasis added)

Prince Caspian

“Lucy,” [Aslan] said, “we must not lie here for long. You have work in hand, and much time has been lost today.”

“Yes, wasn’t it a shame?” said Lucy. “I saw you all right. They wouldn’t believe me. They’re all so –”

From somewhere deep inside Aslan’s body there came the faintest suggestion of a growl.

“I’m sorry, ” said Lucy, who understood some of his moods. “I didn’t mean to start slanging the others. But it wasn’t my fault anyway, was it?”

The Lion looked straight into her eyes.

“Oh, Aslan,” said Lucy. “You don’t mean it was? How could I — I couldn’t have left the others and come up to you alone, how could I? Don’t look at me like that…oh well, I supposed I could. Yes, and it wouldn’t have been alone, I know, not if I was with you…” (emphasis added)

Silver Chair

Puddleglum: “I’m on Aslan’s side even if there isn’t any Aslan to lead it. I’m going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn’t any Narnia. So, thanking you kindly for our supper, if these two gentlemen and the young lady are ready, we’re leaving your court at once and setting out in the dark to spend our lives looking for Overland. Not that our lives will be very long, I should think; but that’s small loss if the world’s as dull a place as you say.” (emphasis added)

The Last Battle

“And as He spoke He no longer looked to them like a lion; but the things that began to happen after that were so great and beautiful that I cannot write them. And for us this is the end of all the stories, and we can most truly say that they all lived happily ever after. But for them it was only the beginning of the real story. All their life in this world and all their adventures in Narnia had only been the cover and the title page: now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on forever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.” (emphasis added)

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Quotes From Chronicles of Narnia

  1. Each of those quotes are incredibly impacting in their own way. I esp. love the quote you pointed out from The Silver Chair. There’s a lot to think about there!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Annette W says:

    I love that you chose a quote from the books! Great choices, too!!

Leave a Reply

