WFMW – Sunburn Remedy

I recently got a pretty bad sunburn after spending an entire day having fun in the sun with my family. When I realized how red I was, I did a quick internet search to find something to help heal the sunburn.

I found several different websites that recommended using apple cider vinegar on sunburns. I had never heard of trying that…but figured I might as well try it out.

I used the apple cider vinegar for two days…putting it on every time I remembered. After those two days, the burn was no longer red and had become more of a tan.

The most amazing thing is that I never peeled. The apple cider vinegar prevented that yucky phase of a sunburn where my skin would just peel. I was thrilled with that!

The only downside to apple cider vinegar is if you get sunburned on your face. Having vinegar that close to your eyes and nose can be quite the overwhelming experience.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Works for Me Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WFMW – Sunburn Remedy

  1. Ohh- good to know! We’ve been pretty good with the sunscreen this summer, but I’ll keep this in mind- I’m sure one of us will end up burned before the summer is over!

    My WFMW post today is about how I make my online time pay off in terms of happy snail mail.  🙂

  2. kristina says:

    We canned pickles last week and I can totally vouch for the overwhelmingness of having cider vinegar in your eyes and nose!

  3. Jenni says:

    I use plain yogurt on my sunburns…i usually stand in the shower, and pour/pat the yogurt over my shoulders, arms, and wherever else im burned. Hang out on the edge of the tub for about 10 minutes. rinse with cool water. Repeat if the burn is one of those that stings pretty bad. I used full fat plain yogurt, and my skin was very soft afterwards too. I know it sounds crazy but give it a try.

Leave a Reply

