Books Read in May

The Unforgiving Minute: A Soldier’s Education by Craig M. Mullaney

I enjoyed this book quite a bit. I like to read books about various wars in our nation’s history…but all too often they are full of off color humor and bad language. I heard about this book from Tim Challies and our public library had a copy. It is a great book about a man who fought in Afghanistan. The book is fairly clean in content.

Navajo Code Talkers by Nathan Aaseng

This is a book my mom bought when we visited the Grand Canyon last year. I enjoyed this book…but it was very superficial. The book gave a broad overview of the importance of the Navajo code talkers. The book created an interest…and didn’t completely satisfy my interest. I haven’t read any other books about the Navajo code talkers yet…but I would be interested in finding another good book on the subject.
Faithful Heart by Al Lacy

I enjoyed reading a series by Al and Joanna Lacy years ago. When I found a good price on this book at Wal-Mart, I thought it would be a good chance to read another book by Al Lacy. I really did not like this book. One of the main characters in the book is a man struggling with his memories from the Civil War. When he has a “spell”, he becomes very angry and physically abuses his wife and children. Attempting to deal with the problem, the man and his wife go to a psychiatrist to help him deal with the problem. Instead of accepting responsibility for his actions when he abused his wife and children, he blamed it on the “bad Jerrod” inside him. I was deeply troubled by that. The book addressed the question about how Christians could be afflicted with mental and behavioral problems…like the kind Jerrod dealt with. But I don’t think the author answered the question correctly.
A Calvinist’s Honest Doubts Resolved by Dave Hunt

Another book I didn’t really enjoy. From the title of the book, I expected the book to be written by a Calvinist. In reality, the author is from the opposite viewpoint and spends the entire book pointing out how Calvinism (or more specifically, he was addressing hyper-Calvinism) is unbiblical. I think I didn’t enjoy the book because I felt like the title misled me. I was expecting a defense of Calvinism and the book was the exact opposite. If the title had prepared me for that, I probably would have liked the book a bit better. As it was, I felt like I was pulled in under false pretenses…I expected one thing and got the opposite.

So far in the first five months of 2010, I have read twenty-seven books. These books combine to over 6500 pages. So I’ve had a good year regarding my reading…I’m not on track for the five hundred books but I’m not complaining. I’ve done a lot of reading in the past five months.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books Read in May

  1. mom2fur says:

    Wow, you sure are a busy reader! The Mullaney book sounds interesting. I know what you mean about the language. Books (and movies) that are full of the “F” word drive me nuts. It’s just lazy writing, IMHO. I don’t mind it occasionally, but honestly hearing it too much is annoying. I seriously doubt even the most hardened criminal talks like that all the time!

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and the sweet comment on my apron!

Leave a Reply

