Ministry Part 3: Prayer

Prayer used to be a discipline I wanted to have, but seemed impossible to attain. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 says, “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” I knew that God commanded christians to pray without ceasing, but I had no idea how to practically go about it. While I’m still not perfect, this is what I’ve found to help me. 🙂

I knew I wanted to become a praying woman, so when Bonnie gave me A Woman’s Call to Prayer last Christmas I was excited to read it. And reading this book is what made becoming a woman of prayer seem more manageable. After reading this book, I made a simple prayer list. I included the date I begin praying, the request and space for the date God answers.

I keep my prayer list in my home management binder and, throughout the day, I take a few moments to pray for one or two items on my list. Often things that happen throughout the day will remind me of someone on my prayer list so I’ll stop and say a prayer then. It isn’t demanding, but I’m able to touch people’s lives by bringing them before God through my prayers.

And I’ve seen God work in some amazing ways since I began my prayer list. A pregnancy that looked as if it was going to end in miscarriage is going strong. Looking for homes and going through escrow has increased my trust and faith in God.

One of the benefits of being a prayer warrior is that you don’t have to leave your home. You can minister to and encourage your family and friends all while staying at home. Prayer is a simple but powerful way to minister to others.

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ministry Part 3: Prayer

  1. Jenny says:

    Carrie,
    You are right that the Lord do answer our prayers in His own timing. The method you are using is a very effective one. I did one long time ago, although not for people or events but for things we needed in the house that we had no fund for it. The Lord has answered all of the prayers on that page except one. We are still waiting on that one to happen but with no anxiety.
    I am eager to see when you make your new house a home.
    Also, Love your new header! ♥
    ~Mrs. Roe

  2. I believe that praying every day is very important. I also make sure I pray with my children and teach them how to pray as well. Enjoy A Woman’s Call to Prayer. I’ve never read that book but it sounds like a good one!

Leave a Reply

