Recipes Galore

We’ve been making quite a few recipes from our Taste of Home cookbook, but they haven’t all been featured here on our blog. Also, Bonnie pointed out to us that a good portion of our posts have to do with cooking and recipes, so we’re compiling the recipes into one big post.

Roasted Carrot Dip – First of all I used Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise and the mayo probably would have tasted much better in this dip. With that said, I did not like this dip. It had a very strong Miracle Whip taste and I didn’t think the dip’s taste warranted retrying it with mayonnaise.

Chocolate Peanut Squares – I made these one evening for a movie night for Tim and me. 🙂 I loved the ease with which these came together. And I also loved the fact that I didn’t have to turn the oven on. They tasted great so I’m planning to keep this recipe handy for a summertime treat. 🙂

Rich Chocolate Cake Bars – Nothing too spectacular about this recipe, so it’s not one I’ll be making again.

Chutney Dip – Most of us didn’t really care for this dip…although Dad liked it.

Disappearing Fruit Dip – This turned out really yummy; a bit on the sweet side but what can you expect with 7 oz of marshmallow creme?

Cookie Dough Truffles – These little treats were definitely a hit at our house. I (Melinda) think they would have been better with a milk chocolate coating rather than semi-sweet chocolate.

Minted Zucchini Salad – This may be only the second recipe that has “gross” written next to it…in capital letters, I might add. The raw zucchini with the strong taste of olive oil was just…too much.

Crunch Cucumber Rounds – These little guys was so light and refreshing…perfect for an afternoon snack or a brunch. 🙂

Cheesy Beef Taco Salad – I’m not a big fan of taco salad, as I don’t like the taste of lettuce and ground beef together. 🙂 However, I ate my taco salad (minus the lettuce) with tortilla chips and it was good. Nothing too spectacular about the recipe though, so since it isn’t my favorite meal I doubt I’ll make it again.

Creamy Black Bean Salsa – I thought this dish was an interesting combination of ingredients. However, it did taste good and made a nice appetizer at a potluck. 🙂

~ Melinda and Carrie ~

This entry was posted in TOH Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment