April Books

I read quite a few books during April and greatly enjoyed most of them. If you are looking for a book to read, hopefully this list will give you some ideas of good books to read or not-so-good books to avoid.

Son of Hamas by Mosab Hassan Yousef – *****

Son of Hamas was recommended by Tim Challies. I added the book to my wishlist, planning to buy it someday. Well…in April, I decided to go browse at Borders one day. I was a little bit discouraged that day…and there’s nothing better than a new book to pick one’s spirit up! So I went to Borders with the intent of buying a book. When I saw Yousef’s book on the shelf, my mind immediately went to Challies’ review and I picked the book up. This book was just as good as Challies’ review led me to believe it would be. I highly recommend it.

The Lost City of Z by David Grann -*****

Again…another book recommended by Tim Challies. This book had been on my list to read since August. I finally checked the book out from our public library. An excellent read and lots of fun. Carrie saw this book and wanted to borrow it.

The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis – ****

My first time reading this classic piece of literature. I really enjoyed this book…I was a little bit troubled by the references to Plato at the end of the book, but it did not really overshadow the story too much. Definitely worth the read. Now I want to read all of the Narnia books one right after the other so that I can enjoy them as one long, continuous story.

Buried in Ice: the Mystery of a Lost Arctic Expedition by Owen Beattie and John Geiger – **

I read this after reading The Lost City of Z, hoping it would be just as good…but it wasn’t. The first half was a historical fiction account of what it might have been like for two young men stuck on an Antarctic exploration. I would have preferred the authors left this out entirely. I came to the book, expecting it to be a biography…and the first half wasn’t. The second half however was of a team who set out to find out what happened to that group of explorers that disappeared in the Antarctic. That part of the book was much better.

My Life in France by Julia Child – ****

I loved this book! It had a couple off-color stories but they were very few. Julia Child’s book made me want to go to Paris just to try their food!

Identical Strangers: A Memoir of Twins Separated and Reunited by Elyse Schein and Paula Bernstein – ***

I enjoyed this book…but perhaps it is just because I am a twin. (Again, there was a reference to marital relations in the book as well as couples living together without being married.) But the book followed two women through their shocking discovery that they were twins and then as they got to know one another. After meeting one another, they set out to discover why they had been separated by the adoption agency and what had happened to their birth mother. I enjoyed their story quite a bit and finished the book in one afternoon/evening.

Only Angels are Bulletproof by Emily Ann Benedict – ****

It is very difficult to find good, wholesome, Christian fiction…but this book fits that bill. This book is the work of a first-time author and it was a fun, easy read. You can find out more about Emily Ann at her blog, Benedictions.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

