Fiction

I mentioned in this post that I am on a bit of a quest for finding quality fiction books. For me, fiction is the hardest genre in which to find good books. There is so much trash out there…even books that come under the name of Christian fiction! For the most part, I want fiction books to cause me to think and to stimulate my mind. I don’t necessarily like my fiction reading to be highly philosophical or theological. I like fiction to be something that is easy to read, yet is high quality and has information worth pondering and thinking about.

With that in mind, here are two novels I have read and really enjoyed.

“The Martyr of the Catacombs” – It is unknown who wrote this book. However, the story is an excellent one that portrays the deep commitment Christians in the early church had for Christ. It is a convicting read!

“Five Sacred Crossings” by Craig Hazen
Hazen is a philosopher. In one of the classes he taught, he challenged his students with the idea that Christians should be doing things to bring philosophy to every person in an easy-to-understand way. His students turned the challenge back on him and suggested he do something like that. This novel is a result of that challenge.

It isn’t an action-packed novel but it does contain plenty of material to make you think. The characters grapple with what one should look for in order to identify a true religion.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fiction

  1. Nicole says:

    Have you read “How They Kept The Faith”, by Grace Raymond? It’s the best novel I’ve read. 🙂

  2. wholesomewomanhood says:

    Thanks for the suggestion, Nicole! I haven’t read it but I will have to. 🙂

    ~ Melinda ~

Leave a Reply

