Introducing…Melissa

Melissa is one of our “real-life” friends. We’ve known her for a long time. She has a very sweet spirit and is passionate about serving God. You can read more about her on her blog, My Corner of the Cupboard.

1. What is your current season of life (i.e. wife, mother, single, student, etc.) Please give us a brief introduction to your family.

I am a single home schooled graduate and the first born of thirteen children from a Bible saturated home.

2. Who has been the best example of a wholesome woman to you?

   The best example to me of sound biblical womanhood is of course my mom. Through her I have been blessed to see what it looks like to be a woman of God who revels in carrying out the role God designed woman to play. Women like Amy Carmichael, Mary Slessor, Corrie Ten-boom, and Darlene Deibler Rose have also shown me what wholesome womanhood embodies.

What about my Mom has been the most encouraging to me? My Mom has been most encouraging to me in her submission to my father’s vision and her prayerful training of myself and all of my siblings.

 What about Amy Carmichael, Mary Slessor, Cori Ten-boom, and Darlene Deibler Rose has been the most encouraging to me?

These women, most of whom you may notice were single, have shown me that true womanhood transcends marriage.

3. What is one aspect of wholesome womanhood you are seeking to learn about right now?

I am seeking to develop child training, discipling, and nurturing skills. I need consistency, patience, compassion, and selflessness.   

What resources are you using?
Practice! 🙂 I have been blessed to spend at least four and a half hours with four children every day this school year.

4. What does wholesome womanhood mean to you.

~Wholesome~

1. Conducive to sound health or well-being

2. Promoting mental, moral, or social health

3. Sound; healthy

 The phrase wholesome womanhood translates to my mind as God honoring, biblical, or true womanhood that is physically, emotionally, and spiritually refreshing. Physically wholesome womanhood joyfully embraces her role as mother or future mother. Emotionally wholesome womanhood embraces her role of submission. Spiritually wholesome womanhood embraces her role as a nurturer of the soul.

How do you practically live it out?

By making it my goal to change lives for Christ by setting an example of wholesome womanhood.

8. In what ways have you struggled with contentment?

I have struggled being content with the fact God made me a girl, the fact God placed me in a conservative Christian home, and the fact that I am not in a serious marriage bound relationship.  

What has helped you gain victory in that area?

Ultimately a biblical understanding of a good, loving, and sovereign God has helped me to gain victory in these areas. I have found multitudes of various sermons, books, and articles including those below to have been mighty weapons of war.

Beautiful Girlhood

Hinds feet on High Places

Emotional Purity

Ligonier Ministries

Visionary Daughters

This entry was posted in Wholesome Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Introducing…Melissa

  1. Chelsea says:

    Your answers were so insightful and encouraging, Melissa!!

Leave a Reply

