Practical Look at Wholesome Womanhood Part 4

Being a woman is a great gift from God!  Over the years, God has taught me and grown me…I went from being a “girly” girl to a “not really into girly things” girl…to a balance between the two.  Over the past few years God has given me a greater picture of womanhood…

I know that the greatest aspect of life  is having Christ as the center.  It is amazing to realize the joy and peace that comes from simply following Him and delighting in Him and His Word.  It is such a blessing to be able to spend time in His Word and in prayer.

One of the ways God has been growing me is in my prayer life.  Scripture says to pray without ceasing…and I desire to be a woman of prayer.  I have found that a great time to pray is when driving!  It is a great time to be alone and just talk to God.  I also want to take the time to praise Him for things throughout the day.  So often I just take things for granted, but I know that in actuality…all things come from Him and He is definitely worthy of all praise!  Another great time to pray is when cleaning the house.  Again, it’s a perfect time to just talk with Him as you’re working.  And…I realized that even if I find myself picking up after someone (again!), I can even pray for the precious hands that left that item there.

It is also so important to be strong in the Word and to hide His Word in your heart.  Currently I am reading the gospels for my daily devotions…it is such a blessing to be reading the words and teachings of Jesus again.  It can be too easy to just fall into a pattern of….reading the Bible…..so I pray that as I read, I will not just be a hearer, but an active doer of the Word!  My memory work has not been as frequent as it should…one of my school assignments right now is to memorize a section of Psalm 119.  I am thankful for the opportunities and reminders like this one to be memorizing and meditating on Scripture!

Womanhood is also about being feminine.  About rejoicing in the way that God designed women to be….women.  Personally, I think it’s a lot of fun being a girl!  I love wearing long skirts…feeling and hearing them swish as I walk.  I like to find fun clothes to wear.  I like to try different hair styles.  I often will put on a necklace to go with certain outfits.  And sometimes…I even wear body mist or perfume.  (Velvet Tuberose….mmmm….smells so good!  🙂 )  Yes…it is so much fun to be a girl!

In being a woman, I desire to love the Lord with all my heart, soul, mind and strength.  I know that I have so far to go in truly having my life always in step with Him, but I marvel at the ways God has already changed me.  And as I continue on this journey of life, I pray that I will only grow more dependent on Him, drawing my strength and joy from Him continually.

-Bonnie

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

This entry was posted in Femininity, Wholesome Womanhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

