My Heart on Valentine’s Day

So…as last week was Valentine’s Day…and as that has been the theme of our blog for this month…it is my turn to write on this topic.  🙂

I find myself in a period of waiting.  For all of my life that I can remember, I have been taught about courtship and the great beauty of the special marriage relationship.  Several years ago, my Dad took me to lunch and I made a commitment that day to pursue the Lord’s best in regard to my future marriage.  At the time, I did not know what paths God would take me down.

Being a typical female, I have enjoyed reading and hearing other people’s courtship stories.  🙂  It is exciting (and romantic!) to hear about the different ways God brings people together.  I remember feeling discouraged, though, when I would hear young women give their testimonies on this topic.  So often, they would say, “Delight in the Lord.  He is your strength.  He is the only One Who can satisfy.”  And that sounded all great…but my discouragement came in the question…how?  How do I delight in the Lord?  How do I pursue Him?

Sometimes I think it would be helpful if God laid out specific steps.  “Follow These Ten Steps and You’ll Find Yourself Delighting in the Lord Above All Else!!”  But, in honesty, I am glad He doesn’t work that way.  He has taught me that delighting in the Lord is not about ten easy steps to instant…delighting.  It is a relationship.  It is turning to Him as a Friend.  It is seeing Him as the Source of all things.  It is taking Him at His Word.  It is following His path.  It is a choice to give your heart to Him and trusting Him with it. 

Again…how?  At this point…any advice will fail.  I write as one who does not have it all together.  I know I do not delight in the Lord at all times as I ought.  I pray that God will continue to teach me in His great mercy.  But I also write as one who knows that it is the Lord alone Who is worthy.  It is He alone Who can guide and protect my heart.  It is His ways that are best and beautiful.  It is He Who orchestrates every detail of my life.

Looking to the future, there are many questions.  But…I know Who is at the end of every question mark.  And I know that even on Valentine’s Day…my heart is in His hands.

-Bonnie

This entry was posted in Valentine's Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Heart on Valentine’s Day

  1. Nicole says:

    Beautiful, Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

