Benefits of Distance Learning

When I finished highschool, I knew that I wanted to continue with college through a distance learning program. At that time my main motivation was probably just a desire to remain at home. I am definitely not a people person…and the idea of going away to college where I would be surrounded by strangers was a bit overwhelming. Not necessarily the best reason to do college at home.

There are other reasons I decided to study at home however. Another primary reason I chose to stay home was because I wanted to be able to have a life outside of college. When I first began my college studies, I was involved in teaching Children’s Programs where I would be gone for an entire week working with children. I did not want to give that up. Also, when I submitted my application in December 2005, I was also considering going on a missions trip. I didn’t want college to interfere with these opportunities to have life outside of college. The fact that Whitefield College allows students to work at their own pace definitely appealed to me.

This turned out to be a big blessing to me. After my nephew, Drew, was born, I was able to spend a week and a half with Tim and Carrie helping out with the baby. I wouldn’t give up that time for anything.

Also I was able to take an entire semester off from Whitefield when the opportunity came up to spend a semester studying in Israel. Spending that semester in Israel was one of the best experiences of my life and I  am grateful that I was able to go.

Doing college from home has allowed me to be free to participate in other activities outside of college. Even with the time that I have taken off I am still completing my degree in nine semesters…which isn’t bad considering the semester I spent in Israel.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Stay at Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

