Schedules…To-Do Lists…Homemaking

One thing I’ve learned over the past several years is that at different seasons of life different types of schedules work. And then you realize that your family dynamics have changed and the schedule that was once perfect no longer works. In fact, instead of being helpful it’s causing undue stress.

I’ve gone through periods where I enjoyed having every minute of every day planned. This happens at such and such a time. I was amazed at how much I could get done whenย I just followed my schedule!

While that worked for awhile, right now that type of schedule only adds frustration to my life. Life with a toddler and a baby is not conducive to that type of schedule. ๐Ÿ™‚ However, after having such a strict schedule work for awhile I realized that as long as I stay focused I (usually!) can get everything done. ๐Ÿ™‚

So right now all I have is a to-do list. I’m only “home” four days a week (Tim has two days off each week and we save those days for relaxing, playing and errand running…Mondays I’m gone all day teaching). So I take a piece of lined paper and, using a pen, draw four boxes and put the days at the top of each box.

Then I just start adding what I know needs to be done each day. Some tasks are done on the same day every week…laundry on Friday, ironing on Saturdays, etc. Some tasks are done every day…such as picking up. I put everything on my lists, because if it isn’t on my list then when an “interruption” comes up I get antsy until I can get back on my list. So…I even put on my to-do list to play with my boys. If I don’t, I get so distracted with what needs to be done that I don’t enjoy being with them.

As I complete things throughout the day I check them off. I can usually accomplish everything on my list. When I fill up the “box” on one day I know I have to move all the rest of the tasks to another day. ๐Ÿ™‚

So…that’s what works for me!

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Works for Me Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

