Hobos

This week over at Life as Mom she is asking everyone to share recipes that include vegetables. I’m definitely looking forward to going over there and browsing through all of them! Vegetables is one thing we need to eat more of, so I need some major inspiration. 🙂

I’ve only made this recipe once (and it was quite awhile ago!), but it tasted so good I don’t know why I haven’t made it again. (*note to self – put this on the menu! :-)) Tim had told me a couple of times how his Mom had made hobos when they were younger. So one time when I had red potatoes in my kitchen I decided to give it a try. And they were GOOD! (This is the recipe I followed, although I revamped it to work for us. 🙂) For instructions on how to assemble and cook the hobos click on the above link. 🙂

1 pound of ground beef
1 cup of bread crumbs (I toasted a piece of bread and then put it through my blender)
1 egg
1/4 cup of lemon juice
1 cup of grated cheddar and jack cheese
salt, to taste
pepper, to taste
4 red potatoes, sliced thin
4 carrots, sliced

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture of our hobos. I think next time I make them I’ll try adding some broccoli and onions….maybe a little bit of corn. Yummy!

Another tasty vegetable recipe is this Groovy Green Smoothie. Now if you are at all like me the thought of a green smoothie may make your stomach turn in knots. Especially since the vegetable that makes this smoothie green is spinach!! However, this smoothie tastes so good! You can’t even taste the spinach. It just tastes like a delightful fruit smoothie. A great way to get green vegetables without having to taste them. 🙂

For more vegetable recipes visit Life as Mom.

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hobos

  1. We used to camp when I was growing up and we would make “cans.” You stack potatoes, group beef, carrots, and onions in a clean coffee can and cook it in the fire til done. Sort of the same idea. YUM! The simplest things can be the best-tasting!

    Jessie

Leave a Reply

