Books Read in 2009

I did not read too many books last year…something I hope to improve in 2010. Here is the list of books I read last year. Perhaps you will find something interesting in this list to read…or a book to avoid.

1. Honey for a Teen’s Heart by Gladys Hunt

2. Flywheel by Eric Wilson

3. Every Living Thing by James Herriot (This was the first of Herriot’s books that I read [or at least that I remember reading]. I enjoyed it…but I haven’t read anything else of his since then.

4. Creation in Six Days by James B. Jordan (I did not enjoy this book. It was highly technical. If you want to read something about biblical creationism, read one of Ken Ham’s books.)

5. Blood of the Prodigal by P.L. Gaus – a new (to me) mystery author! I read several of his books last year and enjoyed them all.

6. The Ordinary Princess by M.M. Kaye

7. A Prayer for the Night by P.L. Gaus

8. The Art of Storytelling by John Walsh – an excellent resource for anyone who wants to learn how to tell stories in a way that will captivate your audience. Walsh walks you through how to prepare your presentation so your story will be interesting and easy to listen to.

9. Blood Brothers by Elias Chacour – After spending a semester in Israel and studying under teachers who were definitely pro-Israel, I was interested in reading a book that presented Middle Eastern affairs from a Palestinian/Arabic perspective. This book was excellent for that purpose. Chacour is a Palestinian believer and his book helped me see some of the Israeli/Palestinian issues through his eyes.

10. The Gift of Asher Lev by Chaim Potok – I enjoyed the book…but I wouldn’t recommend it. It definitely has some *mature* subject matter in it.

11. The Last Mission by Harry Mazer

12. Prince of Humbugs: A Life of P.T. Barnum by Catherine M. Andronik

13. Behind Enemy Lines: The True Story of a French Jewish Spy in Nazi Germany by Marthe Cohn

14. Shane by Jack Schaefer

15. Three Types of Religious Philosophy by Gordon H. Clark

16. Why Believe? by C. Stephen Evans – a book I read for school. I would not recommend this book as he does not have a biblical approach to Christian apologetics and belief.

17. Five Views on Apologetics by Stanley N. Gundry

18. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie – one of her better mysteries, in my opinion.

19. Inside Delta Force by Eric Haney

20. The End of Reason by Ravi Zacharias

21. Pearl Maiden by H. Rider Haggard

22. Why Gender Matters by Leonard Sax – this book definitely opened my eyes as to why boys and girls look at things differently. Again this book is definitely for adult readers due to some of the subjects Sax tackles.

23. Now and Not Yet by Jennifer Marshall

24. The Duggars: 20 and Counting! by Michelle and Jim Bob Duggar

25. Basic American Government by Clarence B. Carson – an excellent book on American government; I enjoyed reading it.

26. Sahara by Clive Cusler – Definitely not a book I would recommend.

27. The Princess Adelina by Julie Sutter

28. The Centurion’s Wife by T. Davis Bunn and Janette Oke

29. Shaiton’s Fire by Jake Thoene

30. Hamlet by Shakespeare – the first Shakespeare play I made it all the way through…now I am definitely a fan of Hamlet. I’ve seen three differnet movie adaptations of the play…and enjoyed them all.

31. Woman in White by Wilkie Collins – a re-read for me by one of my favorite authors. Even though I had read the book before, I was still gripped by the story. It is definitely a good book.

32. Covenant Child by Terri Blackstock

33. Allah’s Fire by Chuck Holton

34. Meltdown by Chuck Holton

35. Firefly Blue by Jake Thoene

36. Dead Heat by Joel C. Rosenberg

37. Yukon Ho! by Bill Watterson

38. Something Under the Bed is Drooling by Bill Watterson

39. The Merchant and the Thief by Ravi Zacharias

40. The Lightlings by R.C. Sproul – a delightful children’s allegory about man’s fall into sin and God’s redemptive plan.

Out of these forty books, twenty-two are fiction and sixteen are non-fiction. I read three mysteries and five biographies. Interestingly, I read twenty-seven books written by men, seven written by women, and two with both a male and female author. (It makes me wonder how I ended up with some many books written by males? Are males more apt to write books…or do I just own more books by men than women?) Finally, six of the books were books I read for school while the other thirty-four were ones I read just for fun.

~ Melinda ~

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

