Just for the Sake of Being Girly

There should be a godly purpose or goal behind everything a Christian does.

As a young girl, I thought one of the highest complients anyone could ever give me was to describe me as competitive or as a tomboy. I loved sports and enjoyed getting out there and giving it my all. I didn’t want to be thought of as a typical girl.

As I’ve grown up and even more since I’ve been married and had children, I’ve realized femininity is a gift that must be cultured and sought. Just because you are female does not make you a lady. And I’ve come to realize it is beneficial for me to take the time to do things that are just girly things. Things that bring a smile to my face. Things that make me thankful for the fact that I am a woman. Things that remind me of how blessed I am to be in the family God gave me.

Now these things might look different for every woman, but two of the things that I do to cultivate a softer more feminine appearance are…

Painting my toenails – I don’t know what it is, but when I look down and see my toes painted a  beautiful color it brings a smile to my face.

Wearing earrings – I only recently got my ears pierced (about four months ago) and I have so enjoyed the difference earrings can make in my appearance! They are special things to be added at special occasions such as Tim’s days off or church on Sunday.

Two small and seeminingly insignificant things that remind me what a privilege it is to be a woman and to enjoy the life God has given me! So look for ways to be feminine for God’s glory!

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Femininity. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just for the Sake of Being Girly

  1. thehubbardscubbard says:

    LIKE!!!! I am being girly today! Thanks for writing this Carrie!!!

Leave a Reply

