The Pain of Hiking

San Jacinto Pinecome

Summer of 2008…When Tim first suggested doing an all day hike with Bonnie to help prepare her to hike Mt. Whitney I thought “No big deal”. I mean, how difficult could a simple hike be? (Note: the most strenuous hikes I had done to date was climbing Soldier Mountain at a Christian camp we had been to. And that hike didn’t last more than two hours!)

We started out with high spirits having fun talking…and that’s where this picture comes in. We were just hiking a long when Bonnie and I decided to get a picture together. At the last minute I decided to add the pinecone for aesthetic purposes. 🙂

As we continued hiking, hours went by. We talked, sang, played games…and still were hiking. We snacked, rested…and still weren’t at the top. My body was starting to ache. *sigh* And who thought this was going to be fun??

Finally after a long, long hike, we made it to the top. My first thought was… “We did all of that for this?” At the top was a big pile of rocks…with a sign. *sigh* And we still had all of that way to go again just to get out of there!! Even though the return hike was a rather discouraging thought, I enjoyed our half hour break at the top of the mountain. 🙂

And then our hike back down…pain and agony! My knees had never hurt so bad in my life! But we ended up making it back to our car, with Tim and Bonnie putting up with a very grumpy Carrie. 🙂

After our ordeal, I posted pictures on Facebook. A friend commented and said she hikes this very mountain every year. I could hardly believe my eyes! I had vowed to NEVER do a hike like that again!! (with possibly MAYBE making an exception for Half Dome in Yosemite) She explained that it helped her to remember that she has to rely on Christ to get her through.

What a stark contrast to how I felt! All I could focus on was the pain, misery and just putting one foot in front of the other. I only focused on the present and not so fun circumstances. I didn’t even think about the goal of the trip…time and fellowship with Tim and Bonnie.

And now…a year later, Tim is talking about hiking this mountain again. And…after months of never wanting to hike again…I’m actually contemplating joining them. 🙂

~ Carrie ~

This entry was posted in Bible. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Pain of Hiking

  1. thehubbardscubbard says:

    Go Carrie!!!

Leave a Reply

